目的主践工作合达至最高影响力

Judy Wong interview

公司如何将目的业务

在 SVIHK,我们相信成功的关键是一系列可以实现你的企业目标,同时与业务营运保持相关性的实际工作组合。这个组合将以创造共享价值(CSV)为基础,但亦可以涵盖企业责任、员工投入度、政府关係、慈善事业、可持续发展等等。目标是将所有的工作一致化,令全球影响远大于分别项目的简单总和。

在这次访谈中,卓佳集团的集团总法律顾问兼首席合规官、以及 SVIHK 的董事黄德君小姐(Judy Wong)解释卓佳如何以目的工作组合解决痛点为目标,以及这种前瞻性的做法如何帮助他们渡过疫情。

你是如何认识到共享价

我认识共享价值是当卓佳董事长和AXA安盛亚洲首席执行官 Gordon Watson 邀请我加入 SVIHK 董事会的时候。他是 SVIHK 的创始主席,亦是香港的 CSV 早期拥护者。

在研究共享价值的时候,我了解到这个思想与我的个人信念不谋而合:企业可以、和应该关心社会和环境,达至长期的可持续发展。

卓佳是 SVIHK 创办,你可以分享一下什么 CSV 如此重要

卓佳是亚洲领先的业务拓展专家。为了支持我们的客户,透过为有可能影响他们商业活动的情况作準备,以确保他们营运方式的永续性非常重要 —— 例如疫情期间的业务连续性计画(BCP)。社会和环境问题可能对我们客户的业务带来负面影响,所以为我们所面临的挑战确立顺应力攸关重要。CSV 倡导企业和社会能和谐共处的可持续发展世界。它不一定要把公司归类成纯牟利或者纯目的的业务,而公司亦不需要捨弃任何一方面。

卓佳最近推出了名SPOT的新品,你能告它如何CSV的潜力

SPOT是能让公司以亲身、虚拟、或混合方式召开常务会议(AGM/EGM)的工具,以便所有股东能从任何地方参加会议。借助电子代理(e-proxy),公司可以以数字方式存取代理,这不但更安全,同时亦具有减少纸张浪费的优势。借助SPOT,即使从未能参加年度大会(AGM)的少数股东,现在也可以参与公司管理。

作为一家具远见、推崇数字转型的前瞻公司,卓佳在疫情未发生前已经筹备这次发佈。当时我们虽然处于前所未见的危机中,却是满足我们客户需求的绝佳时机,我们能预见 SPOT 将在2021年取得空前成功。

黄德君小姐(Judy Wong与喵坊创办人叶文琪先生(Harold Ip和卓佳集团香港首席执行官Joe 温佩麟先生合照。照片由卓佳国际提供

你能告其他目的主导的实际工作?比方Mil Mil合作的企社会划?

由于我们的业务性质,卓佳非常依赖纸张文件。当我加入公司时,我的个人目标是作出更多减废、重用和回收的行动,而我亦鼓励所有业务单元采用数字工具。当时的下一步就是回收无可避免的废纸。

喵坊时全港首家纸箱回收厂,而卓佳是当时第一家与他们进行紧密合作的公司。喵坊回收我们的废纸,再升级再造成厕纸、厨房用纸和面纸等产品 —— 这是企业世界中循环经济的一个好例子。

我们现在与位於观塘的大厦管理团队合作,计划希望废纸的收集範围扩大至整幢大厦。

你有没有其他想跟我分享的事情?

共享价值在我心目中占有非常特殊的位置,而我真心相信公司有能力在蓬勃发展的同时为社会和环境做好事。我很高兴加入了SVIHK董事会,从其他成员身上学习良多。与董事会、Gaëlle 和其她的团队合作是我的荣幸,我期待来年的更多成就。

有关黄德君

黄德君 Judy Wong 是 SVIHK 总监,以及亚洲领先业务拓展专家卓佳集团的集团总法律顾问兼首席合规官。她是香港的执业律师,并自2018年一直担任这个职务。

In Conversation with Judy Wong

How can companies incorporate purpose into their business?

At SVIHK, we believe the key to success is building a portfolio of practices that deliver on your corporate purpose while staying closely linked to business operations. This portfolio would have Creating Shared Value (CSV) as its cornerstone, but could also include corporate responsibility, employee engagement, government relations, philanthropy, sustainability, etc. The goal is to align all of these efforts so that the global impact is bigger than the sum of each individual project.

In this interview, Judy Wong, Group General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer of Tricor Group, and Director of SVIHK, explains how Tricor aims to solves some of their pain points through their purpose portfolio and how this forward-thinking approach has helped them through the pandemic.

purpose led company

What was your first encounter with Shared Value?

I came across Shared Value when Gordon Watson, Chair of Tricor and CEO of AXA Asia invited me to join the board of SVIHK. He is the Founding Chair of SVIHK and an early champion of CSV in Hong Kong.

While researching on Shared Value, I realised how aligned it was with my personal belief that businesses can and should care for society and the environment for long-term sustainability.

Tricor is a Founding Member of SVIHK, can you share why CSV is important to the business?

Tricor is the leading business expansion specialist in Asia. To support our clients, it is very important that we ensure the sustainability of their operations through situations that may affect their business activities – for instance, Business Continuity Planning (BCP) during a pandemic. Social and environmental issues can negatively impact our clients’ businesses and it is vital to build resilience in the context of the challenges we are facing. CSV advocates for a sustainable world where business and society coexist harmoniously. It doesn’t have to be either for-profit or for-purpose only and companies shouldn’t have to forfeit either.

Tricor recently launched a new product called SPOT. Can you tell us how it has the potential to CSV?

SPOT is a tool that allows companies to hold general meetings (AGMs/EGMs) physically and virtually or in a hybrid format so that all shareholders can join the meeting from anywhere. With e-proxy, companies can file their proxy digitally, which is not only more secure but also offers the advantage of reducing paper waste. Thanks to SPOT, even minority shareholders who were never able to attend AGMs can now participate in the company’s governance.

As a forward-thinking company embracing digital transformation, Tricor had planned this launch long before the pandemic. It was great timing to be able to cater to our clients’ needs during unprecedented times and we foresee great success for SPOT in 2021.

Tricor Mil Mill

Judy Wong pictured with Harold Yip, Founder of Mil Mill and Joe Wan, CEO of Tricor Hong Kong. Photo Credit: Tricor Global

Can you tell us about other Purpose-Led practices in your portfolio? For instance the CSR initiative with Mil Mill?

Due to the nature of our business, Tricor has a heavy reliance on paper. When I joined the company, my personal goal was to reduce, reuse and recycle more and I encouraged all business units to embrace digital tools. The next step was to recycle the waste paper that could not be avoided.

Mil Mill is Hong Kong’s first carton recycling plant and Tricor was the first corporation to partner with them significantly. Mil Mill recycles our waste paper into new paper products such as toilet rolls, kitchen towels, and tissue paper – a good example of circular economy in the corporate world.

We are now working with the building management in Kwun Tong to extend the collection of wastepaper to the whole building.

Is there anything else that you would like to share with us today?

Shared Value has a very special place in my heart and I truly believe in the ability for companies to do well by doing good. I’m delighted to have joined the SVIHK board and learned a lot from other members. It has been a pleasure working with the board, Gaëlle and the team and I look forward to another great year ahead.

About Judy Wong

judy wong

Judy Wong is the Director of SVIHK and Group General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer for Tricor Group, the leading business expansion specialist firm in Asia. She is a Hong Kong qualified solicitor and has been in this role since 2018.