十如 – 溢达的可持续发展园林

以重新定义制造业工种及投资创新,颠覆整个纺织业

Gardening landscape of Integral: Integral combines innovation, quality employment, culture and environmental sustainability

公司简介

溢达集团是一家扎根于香港、由家族所有的纺织及成衣公司,业务遍佈中国、越南和斯里兰卡,雇用全球超过3万5千名员工。作为全面的服务和解决方案提供商,溢达透过投资于公司员工和创新科技,确保「从棉种到衬衫」过程的可持续制造,将公司从其他制造商中区分开来。

2019年,溢达与中国桂林展开「十如」计划。「十如」是发展性商业模式的开创先锋,结合现代科技和高技术劳工,促进可持续制造。「十如」是溢达的可持续发展园林,设有专业纱厂和成衣工厂,特别为企业、员工和环境三方和谐共存而设计。利用新科技和管理哲学,「十如」令溢达员工发挥他们的最佳表现。

社会议题

气候变化的影响已经威胁到溢达纺织业务所依赖的天然资源。全球温度上升等物理风险令棉花害虫的增长速度加快,而过去两年桂林和中国其他地区亦创下降雨量的新纪录,导致频繁的洪水氾滥。这些发展大大增加了整个溢达供应链中棉花供应的风险。

除了环境问题外,行业一直被冠上低安全标準和工资微薄的恶名,造成确保高素质的就业条件和相互尊重工作环境的社会挑战。事实上,行业的平均离职率一直高企(超过20%),虽然劳动力充足,但是能操作高科技机器的有经验工程师仍然很少,难以在日渐饱和的棉花制造行业中保持竞争力。

 

The lake near Esquel factory

大自然令这片土地重生,恢复了以往的活力,更变成了湖泊。

 

商业价值

溢达的供应链极容易受到气候变化的影响。透过投资于更环保的生产方式和建築设计,「十如」寻求减低气候风险、同时将产量最大化的方法。纺织业的严重环境足迹一向恶名昭彰,而溢达就计划在整个生产过程中成为创新科技和绿色行动的领导人,从而减少能源、水和资源消耗。

溢达是一家以很强的价值观主导的家族企业。公司真诚地关怀员工,视他们为促进可持续增长的首要资产。与一般行规相反,溢达不单致力为员工提供安全的工作环境和更高的实际工资,更为他们提供学习和获得内部直线升迁的机会。虽然最终的目标是收窄贫富差距,但通过提高员工技能来配合自动化科技,溢达同时确保了员工能适应企业的未来需求,维持竞争优势。

 

共享价值策略:海岛棉和「十如」

为确保公司的供应链免受气候变化带来的物理风险影响,溢达的研发部门致力开发一种更具可持续性的棉种品种。溢达与中国科学院上海生命科学研究院、国家人类基因组研究中心和南京农业大学合作,加上投资240万美元,于2015年成功研究出全球首个海岛棉的基因排序。这次研究的目的是鉴定不同基因的优势和缺点,以培育出具有高素质纤维、可对抗疾病和害蟲、更能适应不同气候的新海岛棉品种。溢达的海岛棉品种产量高,全年产量稳定性已得到證实,令优质、更具可持续性的棉花得以增长。

但是,溢达深明要应对气候危机和确保可持续增长,他们需要作出更根本的转变。2012年,公司推出了「十如」,一个结合现代技术、高质就业、创新和环境可持续性的开创性可持续生产设施。「十如」涵盖了一个学习中心、一个天然染料花园、一座从2018年开始营运的纺纱厂、和一家2019年启用的制衣厂。屡获殊荣的建築公司Ronald Lu & Partners 帮助设计了「十如」,希望展示制造业能如何与自然环境和生物多样性共存。

 

Esquel garment factory and spinning mill

制衣厂和纱厂与大自然和谐共存。

 

溢达专注于可持续发展目标 #8 (体面工作和经济增长)、#12(负责任消费和生产)和 #13(气候行动),并在「十如」的规划阶段早期已经将这些方向纳入计划。事实上,「十如」所在的土地曾因过度开发而受到污染,经过悉心的复修工程,土地回复了昔日的活力,为当地的野生动物创造了栖息地。此外,「十如」更以当地采购的可持续材料建造。建築师使用创新技术和设计元素来减少设施对环境的影响,比方说,建築设计尽量采用自然光,更将光线重新定向到工作坊的地板,减低电力消耗;制造过程中使用的水也会经过回收和处理,实现零废水排放;所有建築范围内的交通亦以绿色电力驱动。

 

溢达专注于可持续发展目标 #8 (体面工作和经济增长)、#12(负责任消费和生产)和 #13(气候行动),并在「十如」的规划阶段早期已经将这些方向纳入计划。

「十如」了解到「我们的增长率只能跟我们所培育的人才进步得一样快」,所以亦期望培养员工技能。在公司的自动化纱厂在中国其他地区取得成功后,溢达复制并改进他们在「十如」使用的自动化模型,随后聘请140名工程师,并提升他们的技能,成就将先进机械和高技能劳工结合的纱厂,结果令生产力显著提升,素质亦保持稳定。一家普通的纱厂需要930名员工才能营运,而「十如」只需要140名员工就可以全天候维持同等产量。同样地,「十如」的场内工程师可以在25分钟内调整和测试在绘图过程使用的机器,这个过程以前需要一小时才能完成。凭著这个「经理工程师」职位,溢达将郁闷过时的车间工作重新定义为极需要知识、高科技、需要与人沟通的工作,而正正是这些工作才能有力地吸引和留住新晋人才投身这个行业。

溢达的所奉行的长期政策(照顾公司员工和创造优质工作环境)进一步加强了生产力的提升。溢达的多技能纱厂操作员是「经理工程师」(具备管理能力的工程师),而公司亦会授权技术人员自主地进行他们各自的生产单元。员工有权自组团队来解决车间问题,将停机时间最小化之馀,同时有效训练员工。相对于一般行规,溢达积极鼓励「不加班」政策,确保所有员工有健康的工作生活平衡。在2019年,员工的平均工时由每天9小时,缩短至8个半小时,而工资和产量仍维持不变。

Dining service at Esquel Integral

从空间到餐牌和厨房,溢达的员工膳食服务重新定义公司餐饮的服务方式。

 

「十如」还开创了溢达的「膳食2.0」餐饮模式,采用当地农产品和预订应用程式,将食物浪费减到最低。餐牌设计以为员工提供均衡饮食为主,协助他们培养健康的饮食习惯。所有餐厅都拥有广阔且如画的景观,促进员工之间和他们与大自然间的紧密联繫。

基于这种关怀员工福祉和人才发展的做法,溢达的员工流动率比行业标準低很多。在中国,行业的平均流动率是20%以上,而「十如」制衣厂在2019年的流动率是2.3%。透过将员工视为「知识工人」,而不是体力劳动力,溢达保留了一支更具韧力、灵活度和忠诚度的工作团队,他们能在不影响工时和工资的情况下增加生产力。

 

展望未来

「十如」的业务仍属于早期阶段,但在可持续性、生产力提升和劳动力素质方面已经获得重大的进展,这也突显出项目作为未来可持续发展制造业模式的重要性。在一个视损害劳工和影响环境为日常的行业中,「十如」展示了纺织和制衣业能如何透过投资于技术和灵活劳动力和结合创新科技来可持续地发展业务,并减低行业所带来的环境足迹。

溢达正探索把「十如」项目的成功复制到越南工厂和中国其他业务的机会。虽然气候变化的挑战会持续,但溢达的目标仍然是引领棉花制造业迈向更具可持续性的发展模式,最终造福社会,同时创造竞争优势。

 

Societal Benefits Business Benefits
Healthier and Happier Employees – No overtime and good work-life balance. Tailored meal plans for employees and locally sourced food Enhanced Productivity – Increased output while work hours have decreased from 9 to 8.5 hours per day
Agile and Skilled Workforce – 140 multi-skilled engineers operating the spinning mill, 85% of which are degree holders Lower Staff Turnover – 2.3% turnover rate in 2019 in comparison to industry rate of over 20%
Eco-friendly Operations – Increased bio-diversity, zero wastewater, more efficient energy use Product Differentiation – Premium quality cotton shirts woven from Sea Island Cotton
Read more Case Studies

Integral – Esquel’s Sustainable Development Garden

Disrupting the textile industry through redefining manufacturing jobs
and investing in innovation

Gardening landscape of Integral: Integral combines innovation, quality employment, culture and environmental sustainability

Company Overview

Esquel Group is a family-owned textile and apparel company based in Hong Kong with operations throughout China, Vietnam and Sri Lanka, employing over 35,000 people worldwide. As a total service and solution provider, Esquel differentiates itself from other manufacturers by investing in its people and innovative technology to ensure sustainable manufacturing ‘from seed to shirt’.

In 2019, Esquel began Integral in Guilin, China – a pioneering developmental business model combining modern technologies with a highly skilled workforce to facilitate sustainable manufacturing. Purposefully designed to allow the business and its people to co-exist in harmony with the environment, Integral is Esquel’s ‘Sustainable Development Garden’ and is home to a specialty spinning mill and a garment factory. Leveraging new technology and management philosophies, Integral enables Esquel to bring out the best in their workers.

The Social Issue

The impacts of climate change have come to threaten the natural resources that Esquel’s textile business relies on. Physical risks such as rising temperatures have facilitated the growth of a cotton pest, while record rainfall in Guilin and the rest of China in the last 2 years has resulted in more frequent flooding. These developments have significantly heightened the risk of cotton supply throughout Esquel’s supply chain.

Aside from environmental issues, there is also the social challenge of ensuring quality employment and respectful working conditions for workers in an industry renowned for its low safety standards and pittance in wages. Indeed, average turnover rates in the industry remain high (over 20%) and despite the abundance of labour, there is a dearth in skilled engineers capable of operating the high-tech machinery required for cotton manufacturers to remain competitive in an increasingly saturated industry.

The lake near Esquel factory

Nature was allowed to regenerate the land, restore it to its former vitality and become the lake.

Business Value

Esquel’s supply chain is extremely vulnerable to the impacts of climate change. By investing in greener production methods and building designs, Integral seeks to mitigate climate risks and maximise productivity. The textile industry is renowned for its heavy environmental footprint, and Esquel intends to be a leader in innovative technologies and greener practices throughout its manufacturing process to reduce energy, water and resource consumption.

Esquel is a family business guided by strong values. The company genuinely cares for its employees and sees them as its top asset to facilitate sustainable growth. Contrary to the industry norm, Esquel aims to provide workers with not just a safe working environment and better take-home pay, but also opportunities to learn and gain vertical mobility internally. The ultimate aim is to narrow the wealth gap but by upskilling employees to integrate automated technology, Esquel also ensures its workforce is able to adapt to the future needs of the business to maintain a competitive edge.

The Shared Value Strategy: Sea Island Cotton and Integral

To secure its supply chain against the physical risks of climate change, Esquel’s R&D sought to develop a more sustainable cotton seed variety. In collaboration with the Shanghai Institute for Biological Sciences of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the National Human Genome Centre and Nanjing Agricultural University, and with a US$2.4 million investment, Esquel successfully completed the genome sequencing of Sea Island Cotton in 2015, a world’s first. The aim of this research was to identify the strengths and weaknesses of different genes in order to breed new varieties of Sea Island Cotton, characterized by the quality of the fiber, resistance to pest and disease, and adaptability to different climates. Esquel’s Sea Island Cotton variety produces high yields with proven stability throughout the year, allowing the growth of premium, more sustainable cotton.

But Esquel understood the need for a more fundamental shift to address the climate crisis and ensure sustainable growth. In 2012, the company launched ‘Integral’ – a pioneering sustainable manufacturing facility combining modern technologies, quality employment, innovation and environmental sustainability. Integral includes a learning center, a natural dye garden, a spinning mill, which started operating in 2018 and a garment factory launched in 2019. Award-winning architectural firm Ronald Lu & Partners helped design Integral with the aim to demonstrate how manufacturing can co-exist with the natural environment and preserve bio-diversity.

Esquel garment factory and spinning mill

The garment factory and spinning mill coexist in harmony with nature.

Esquel focuses on SDGs #8 (Decent Work and Economic Growth), #12 (Responsible Consumption and Production), and #13 (Climate Action) and addressed them in the early planning stages of Integral. Indeed, the land on which Integral was built had previously been polluted by over-development, and was carefully restored to its former vitality, to create habitat for local wildlife. Moreover, Integral was constructed using locally sourced sustainable materials. The architects used innovative technologies and design elements to reduce the facilities’ impact on the environment. For instance, the design maximizes natural light and redirects it to workshop floors, thereby lowering electricity consumption. The water used in the manufacturing process is also recycled and treated to discharge zero wastewater and on site transportation is powered by green electricity.

Esquel focuses on SDGs #8 (Decent Work and Economic Growth), #12 (Responsible Consumption and Production), and #13 (Climate Action) and addressed them in the early planning stages of Integral.

Integral also aims to build the skills of its workforce, recognising that ‘we can only grow as fast as the talent we nurture’. Building on the success of its automated spinning mill in other parts of China, Esquel replicated and improved their automation model in Integral, subsequently hiring and upskilling 140 engineers for the spinning mill, which combines advanced robotics with highly-skilled labour. The result has been a significant increase in productivity and consistent quality. Whereas a generic spinning mill would require 930 employees to operate, Integral’s specialized spinning mill requires only 140 employees for the same output around the clock. Likewise, Integral’s onsite engineers can adjust and test machines for the drawing process in 25 minutes, when it previously required one hour. With these ‘managineer’ positions, Esquel redefines the dated mundane shopfloor job into knowledge-intensive, high-tech, interpersonal work that has the power to attract and retain fresh talent into the industry.

This increase in productivity is reinforced by Esquel’s longstanding policy of looking after its employees and creating a quality working environment. Esquel’s multi-skilled mill operators are ‘mangineers’ (engineers that are also equipped with management capabilities), and the company empowers technical staff to run their respective production cells autonomously. Employees are empowered to work as one team to solve shop floor issues, minimize downtime and allow effective training. In contrast to industry norms, Esquel actively encourages a policy of ‘no overtime’ to ensure a healthy work-life balance for all staff. In 2019, the average working hours for workers have decreased from 9 to 8.5 hours per day, while wages and productive output have remained the same.

Dining service at Esquel Integral

From the space to the menu and the kitchen, Dining service at Integral redefines how catering can be done.

Integral also pioneered Esquel’s ‘Dining 2.0’ catering model, which uses local produce and a pre-order app to minimizing food waste. The menus are designed to provide a balanced diet for workers to help them develop healthy eating habits, and the dining halls have wide, scenic views fostering a closer relationship to nature and one another.

As a result of this approach to employee wellbeing and talent development, Esquel has experienced much lower staff turnover rates relative to industry standards. The average industry turnover rate in China is upwards of 20%, while Integral’s garment factory turnover rate was 2.3% in 2019. By considering their employees as ‘knowledge workers’ rather than manual labour, Esquel has retained a more resilient, agile and committed workforce that contributes to increased productivity without compromising on hours worked or income earned.

Future Outlook

Integral is still in its early years but the significant progress already measured in terms of sustainability, improved productivity and quality of labour underline the project as the sustainable manufacturing model of the future. In an industry entrenched in detrimental labour practices and environmental impact, Integral showcases how textile and apparel manufacturing can sustainably evolve through investment in a skilled and agile workforce in tandem with innovative technologies to reduce the industry’s environmental footprint.

Esquel is now looking to replicate the success of the Integral project in its factories in Vietnam and other operations in China. Despite the continuing challenge of climate change, Esquel aims to lead the cotton manufacturing industry in its transformation towards a more sustainable model that ultimately benefits society while creating competitive advantage.

Societal Benefits Business Benefits
Healthier and Happier Employees – No overtime and good work-life balance. Tailored meal plans for employees and locally sourced food Enhanced Productivity – Increased output while work hours have decreased from 9 to 8.5 hours per day
Agile and Skilled Workforce – 140 multi-skilled engineers operating the spinning mill, 85% of which are degree holders Lower Staff Turnover – 2.3% turnover rate in 2019 in comparison to industry rate of over 20%
Eco-friendly Operations – Increased bio-diversity, zero wastewater, more efficient energy use Product Differentiation – Premium quality cotton shirts woven from Sea Island Cotton
Read more Case Studies