Medix 透过共享价值令医疗民主化

Medix Medical

 公司简介

Medix 是一家领先的医疗管理方案公司,提供一系列如个人医疗案例管理、疾病预防、先进数字保健方案、康复治疗和临床谘询等的服务。Medix于2016年成立,业务遍布全球12个办事处,包括伦敦、香港、上海、孟买及特拉维夫,为身处90个不同国家的700万名客户服务。作为一家以共享价值为核心理念的公司,Medix的目标是透过令医疗保健服务更普及和推动优质医疗护理服务来改善人们的生活。

社会议题

全球医疗服务正在面临重大变化。因为先进的数字科技和崭新而且已改良的医疗设备,遍布全球的医疗护理素质已经有了明显改善。即便如此,医疗保健的普及度依然是一个问题,特别是在发展中国家,社会基础设施和医疗保健系统并未如理想地发达。这个不是唯一的问题。举例说,统计数据显示,在美国,最富有的1%富豪平均寿命比最基层的1%人民长10至15年!不同国家提供的医疗服务,价格和素质存在明显差异,导致消费者将大部分收入花在无保證、有时什至是不必要的治疗。事实上,当我们将某些地区、城市、邻近医院、甚至医生进行比较时,差异可能令人震惊。研究*显示,如果能减低医疗护理在人口中的过度差异,由于能腾出资源,医疗质素将显著提高,而成本更可降低达30%!

无论综观全球还是聚焦本地,医疗程度的普及性和不平等情况正正是 Medix 想解决的问题。曾任多家大型金融机构管理高层的 Sigal Atzmon(首席执行官)创立 Medix,致力重新构想在医疗生态圈中病人、提供商和付款人之间的传统关係,并创造恒久而大规模的社会影响。Sigal 一向热衷于医疗保健,希望成立Medix以确保每个来自不同背景和地域的人都能接触到优质的保健服务,更想透过提供正确的诊断和治疗,令保健服务更具可持续性。她的真正使命是减少不必要的医疗差异,实现医疗民主化。

 

Sigal Atzmon Medix

 商业价值

在成立初期,Medix 将缺乏标準的医疗服视为商机。当Medix了解到大部分健康的消费者往往无法获得优质服务,公司试图为这个服务不足的市场提供所需。他们的解决方案「Medix个人医疗案例管理服务」目的是想更好地管理医疗生态系统中各方持份者的关係,例如病人、服务提供商和付款人,从而创造更健康的结果。

案例管理服务为病人提供个人化和定制化的医疗旅程,透过多个专科和以病人为中心的客观程序,配合全球领先医学专家网路的支援和医学建议,确保每个客户都能获得最佳的医疗成果,并避免过度或错误使用医疗疗程。多亏这个更个人化的护理旅程,医疗系统得以变得更具可持续性和有效率,不必要疗程的减少亦令病人的医疗费用降低,令更高比例的收入得以花在其他地方。另外,从经济角度看来,改善医疗成果同时减少不必要的程序能达至更好的赔付率。这同时意味著员工可以更快康复,回到工作岗位继续赚钱,间接为保险公司的企业客户节省成本。服务的经济影响还是次要,最重要的是能确保个人化和优化的医疗旅程。在某些情况下,为病人建议的疗程可能会比较昂贵,但在整体人口或组合角度来看,经济效益显而易见。

这种颠覆性的商业模式涉及与大型保险公司和企业机构的合作,透过资方保险或直接与大型企业合作,为广大客户群提供增值医疗服务。Medix视这些大型企业为他们达成目标的「伙伴」,创造更好的医疗护理成果,而不是纯粹交易的「付款人」。透过这些合作,Medix确保地区内的优质医疗服务能大规模地普及。这个模型亦可透过拓展到其他国家来在宏观层面上继续扩大发展。这个做法的核心就是共享价值的创造。对Medix而言,创造共享价值代表将社会价值和经济增长结合起来,最终改善民生的方法。

共享价值策略

作为一家共享价值公司,Medix致力在改善全球医疗护理领域上成为领导角色,意味著推动可持续的经济和社会增长,令世界各地的人都能获得最好的医疗服务,真正改善他们的生活。案例管理模型还能确保更有效地利用医疗资源,提高生产力,从而为更多人提供更好的护理。了解到病人通常缺乏单一的焦点来帮助他们在迷宫般的(或短缺的)医疗疗程和专家意见中选择,Medix提供独特服务,能更好地了解病人的选择,并推行国际水平的医疗护理,令服务更普及。模型的最终目标是克服当地的医疗差异,拉平医疗护理的不平等分布,和减少不必要的医疗差异。

解决医疗领域结构性差距的关键是Medix的旗舰个人医疗案例管理服务(PMCM)。由专业团队组成,在治疗过程中为病人及家人提供支持,专科病例医生会对所有相关医疗资讯进行评估,并进行任何必要的测试,全面诊断病人的病情。下一步,他们会代表病人谘询全球领先的专家,提供实际而可行的见解,让Medix能与当地医生合作,无论病人的背景或情况如何,都能为病人确认最佳的行动方案。事实上,PMCM为医疗案例、计划、合作、实行、和持续监控方面提供全面评估,让病人知道他们正获得最优质的护理,令他们安心。

 

作为老闆和商业领袖,我们应该不断努力推动经济和社会增长。

Medix Group 主席及首席执行官 Sigal Atzmon

 

透过将不同城市、地域和国家的医疗护理素质一致化,Medix 能实现医疗保健民主化,并在过程中改善人们购买医疗服务的消费方式。与其推广医疗旅遊,Medix的方向是透过知识共享,促进更好的理解,从而改善较弱势社群的当地医疗保健基础设施和健康文化。

作为一家共享价值公司,Medix衡量对公司所服务的社群和所营运的市场中的社会和经济影响。其中一个关键指标是临床影响和Medix为客户提供的附加价值,以更好的健康和避免不必要医疗资源为量度方法。自成立以来,Medix在整个亚洲由Mdeix管理的病例中录得25%(平均)变化。同样地,55%的Medix病人获得更好的治疗。最明显的变化是在所有评估案例中,有22%在Medix的介入下避免了不必要的药物、治疗、程序和重大手术,从而令病人的医疗支出用在适合的地方。Medix的利润因此而录得按年增长,客户群亦在不到5年间从200万增至700万。

 

展望未来

某些国家由于医疗保健基础设施落后,亦缺乏当地专家,令实现公平地获得优质医疗护理依然存在挑战。虽然如此,Medix正在多个市场中扩展。作为其「首衝亚洲」战略的一部分,公司将通过与亚洲领先保险公司、足迹遍布全球18个国家的AIA友邦保险的合作,在亚洲地区积极地扩充业务。事实上,Medix将在2021年重点关注印度市场,投资于几家专门研发数字及人工智能主导的医疗保健解决方案的有前景初创公司,同时与当地机构和政府合作,提高优质医疗护理服务的普及度。同样地,Medix计划在美国和中东扩展业务,和打入南美洲市场。

新冠肺炎疫情加速了数字健康管理方案的转变,而新的护理模式亦正脱颖而出。Medix多年来一直活跃于先进数字健康管理方案的发展,凭藉其风险投资部门Medix Ventures,Medix渴望继续在他们视为「再进化」的医疗护理领域中扮演领航的先锋角色。作为他们引领数字医疗护理工作的一部分,Medix即将推出Medix手机应用程式,为人们提供一个一站式的医疗护理服务平台,更包括各种数字预防措施。

 

社会得益 商业得益
医疗护理普及化 – 遍及超过700万客户群,跨越90个国家 利润增长 – 按年利润增长
更公平的护理解决方案 – 医疗保健民主化,导致全球医疗保健能达成标準化 可扩展的商业模式 – 透过战略合作将足迹扩展至6大洲
有效地运用医疗资源 – 审查诊断结果令 55% 案例达成治疗优化,22% 案例减少不必要治疗和程序 产品差异化 – 定制医疗案例管理,令医疗护理生态系统中的病人、服务提供商和付款人保持平等

聆听更多有关 Medix Group 的资讯

Read more Case Studies

Medix:
Democratising Healthcare
Through Shared Value

Medix Medical Expertise

Company Overview

Medix is a leading healthcare management solutions company providing a range of services including personal medical case management, disease prevention, advanced digital health solutions, rehabilitation, and clinical consultancy services. Established in 2006, Medix has a large global footprint with 12 offices worldwide, including London, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Mumbai and Tel Aviv, serving over 7 million customers across 90 different countries. As a company conceived with Shared Value at the core of its philosophy, Medix has the purpose to improve people’s lives by enabling greater accessibility to healthcare services and the implementation of quality medical care.

The Social Issue

Global healthcare is undergoing major changes. With advanced digital technologies and new and improved medical equipment, the quality of medical care available globally significantly improved. Nevertheless, access to quality healthcare remains an issue, particularly in developing countries, where the social infrastructure and healthcare systems are not as evolved, but not only there. Statistics show for example that the richer people in the US (top 1%) live between 10-15 years longer than the bottom 1%! There are significant variations in both the price and quality of healthcare services available in different countries, which leave consumers spending vast proportions of their incomes on unwarranted and sometimes unnecessary treatments. Indeed, when comparing healthcare services available within certain regions, cities and neighbouring hospitals, and even doctors the differences can be quite stark. Studies* have shown that if undue variations in healthcare are reduced in the population, the quality of care would rise dramatically as a consequence of less stretched resources, and costs could be lowered by as much as 30%!

This problem of accessibility and inequality in medical standards, both globally and domestically, is precisely what Medix set out to address. Having previously served as an executive in various large financial institutions, Sigal Atzmon (CEO) founded Medix in a bid to reconceive the traditional relationship between Patients, Providers and Payers within the healthcare ecosystem and to create lasting social impact at scale. Pursuing her longstanding passion for healthcare, Sigal established Medix to ensure that anyone and everyone could access quality healthcare regardless of income or geographic limitations, but also to make healthcare more sustainable by providing the right treatment for the right diagnostic. Her true mission is to reduce unwarranted healthcare variations and democratise healthcare.

Sigal Atzmon Medix

Business Value

In its earliest days, Medix identified the lack of standardised healthcare as a business opportunity. Recognising that quality services were often inaccessible to a significant proportion of health consumers, Medix sought to meet the needs of this underserved market. Their solution – Medix’ Personal Medical Case Management Service – aims to better manage the relationship between the stakeholders involved in the healthcare ecosystem, namely the Patients, Providers and Payers, to create better health outcomes.

The Case Management service implements a personalised and tailored medical journey for the patient, ensuring the best medical outcome for the individual and avoiding overuse or misuse of medical treatments thanks to a multidisciplinary and patient-centric, objective process with support and medical advice from a network of world-leading medical experts. This leads to a more sustainable and efficient healthcare system, thanks to the implementation of a more personalised care journey. The reduction in unwarranted treatments also leads to decreased expenses for patients, freeing a higher proportion of their income. Moreover, from an economic perspective, improving medical outcomes while at the same time reducing unnecessary procedures leads to a better loss ratio. It also means that employees can recover quicker and return to the workplace to continue earning, which in turn saves costs for the insurer’s corporate clients. The economic Impact of the service is secondary and the focus is on ensuring personalised and optimised medical journeys. In some cases, the treatment suggested to the individual patient may actually cost more but when looking at it on a population or portfolio basis, the economics are clear.

This disruptive business model involved partnering with large insurers and corporate institutions to provide value-added healthcare services to a wide customer base through employer insurance or directly with large corporates. Medix views these large corporates as live ‘partners’ in their goal to create better health outcomes rather than pure transactional ‘Payers’. Through these collaborations, Medix ensures mass accessibility to quality medical care within a region. The model is also scalable at a macro level by expanding to other countries. Core to this approach is the creation of Shared Value. For Medix, CSV represents a way to combine social value and economic growth, ultimately improving livelihoods.

The Shared Value Strategy

As a Shared Value company, Medix aims to play a leading role in improving the healthcare landscape globally. This means driving sustainable economic and social growth and enabling people around the world to receive the best medical care possible to make a real difference in their lives. The Case Management model also ensures a more efficient use of medical resources for better productivity, which can in turn allow for better care to more people. Recognising that patients often lack a single focal point to help them navigate through a maze of medical treatments and expert opinions (or lack thereof), Medix provides unique services that facilitate better understanding of a patients choices, as well as greater accessibility and implementation of international standard healthcare. Ultimately, the model aims to overcome local healthcare disparities, flatten the inequality-of-care curve and reduce unwarranted healthcare variations.

A key part to addressing this structural gap in the healthcare landscape is Medix’ flagship Personal Medical Case Management Service (PMCM). Comprising of dedicated teams to support patients and their family members during the course of their treatment, specialist case doctors conduct a review of all the relevant medical information and perform any necessary tests to inform a thorough diagnostic of the patient’s condition. They then consult with the world’s leading specialists on their patient’s behalf, providing actionable insights that enable Medix to collaborate with local doctors to determine the optimal course of action for their patient regardless of their context. Indeed, PMCM provides a thorough assessment of the medical case, planning, coordination, implementation and on-going supervision in order and patients can be reassured that they are getting the best quality care.

We should always strive as business owners and business leaders to drive economic and social growth.
Sigal Atzmon, President and CEO, The Medix Group

By seeking to standardise the quality of medical care in different cities, regions and countries, Medix is able to democratise healthcare, and improve the way people consume care in the process. Rather than promoting medical tourism, Medix aims to improve local healthcare infrastructure and health literacy in more vulnerable societies by facilitating a better understanding of healthcare through knowledge sharing.

As a Shared Value company, Medix measures both the social and economic impact of their services on communities and the markets they operate in. One key metric is clinical impact and the added value that Medix provides their customers, measured in terms of better health outcomes and the avoidance of unnecessary medical resources. Since its conception, Medix has achieved a 25% change (on average) in patient cases managed by Medix across Asia. Likewise, 55% of Medix’ patients received improved treatments. Most significant though is that in 22% of all cases reviewed, Medix prevented unnecessary medications, treatments, procedures and major surgeries, subsequently optimising patient healthcare expenditures. This led to an increase of Medix’ bottom line year-on-year while growing its customer base from 2 million customers to over 7 million in less than five years.

Future Outlook

Challenges remain in achieving equitable access to quality healthcare due to underdeveloped healthcare infrastructure and a shortage of local expertise in some countries. Nevertheless, Medix is expanding in several markets. As part of their ‘Asia first’ strategy, the company will expand its footprint significantly across the region, facilitated by its partnership with AIA, a leading insurer in Asia with a presence in 18 countries. Indeed, Medix will focus heavily on India in 2021, investing in several promising start-ups specialising in digital and AI-driven healthcare solutions, while working with local institutions and the government to enhance greater accessibility to quality healthcare. Similarly, Medix plans to expand its services across the US and the Middle East and also enter the South American market.

The pandemic has expedited the shift to digital health solutions with new care models coming to the fore. Medix has been active in advancing digital health solutions for many years and with its venture capital arm ‘Medix Ventures’, Medix is eager to continue to play a pioneering role in what they see as a ‘re-evolution’ of the healthcare landscape. As part of their effort to lead the way in digital healthcare, Medix will soon be launching the Medix App – a healthcare platform providing a one-stop-shop for people’s healthcare needs including a variety of digital prevention measures.

Societal Benefits Business Benefits
Accessible Healthcare – customer base of 7M+ clients across 90 countries Revenue Growth – annual revenue growth year-on-year
More Equitable Care Solutions – democratisation of healthcare leading to standardisation of medical care globally Scalable Business Model – expanding footprint across 6 continents via strategic partnerships
Efficient Use of Medical Resources – reviewed diagnosis leading to 55% of cases with optimised treatment pathways and 22% of cases reduction in unnecessary treatments and procedures Differentiated Products – tailored medical case management aligning the Payer, Provider and Payer in the healthcare ecosystem

Hear more about The Medix Group

Read more Case Studies