由韋國敦 Gordon Watson 撰寫

AXA安盛亞洲及非洲首席執行官、SVIHK創始主席

Inspiring Trees on pur

圖片來源:ANGELA BENITO, Unsplash

 

AXA 安盛亞洲及非洲首席執行官韋國敦解釋他如何接觸共創價值,一個今年將慶祝10週年的全球運動,並成為 Shared Value Project Hong Kong 的創始主席 (現已改名為 Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong)。

 

當我剛開始成為勞動力的一份子時,「可持續性」是一個很含糊的詞語:它僅限於「綠色」、減少浪費紙張和回收重用。我們很容易看到如The Rainforest Alliance等知名的非牟利機構如何為地球的可持續性作出貢獻,而企業機構則難以展露出它們的承諾。

聯合國推出可持續發展目標

然而,世界各地對可持續發展的具體承諾正逐漸增加。首先,全球領導、國家元首和政府聚首通過聯合國千年宣言,這代表他們的國家對新的全球夥伴關係作出承諾,減少極端貧窮。這些行動最終演變為聯合國可持續發展目標,一個引領我們社會在需要取得重大進展的領域上作出行動的藍圖。

與此同時,我開始閱讀有關如雀巢等將社會和環境問題納入其戰略核心的大公司所做的工作。例如,在雀巢所採取的方法中有一個關鍵特點,就是將生產的各個方面定位在發展中國家,靠近原材料等來源,從而在這些社群創造價值。雀巢45%的工廠和48%的員工位於發展中國家,儘管這些國家佔他們的銷售額不足 1/3。雀巢曾公開表示,公司經濟投資的基本原則是「對國家有利、對公司有益」。雀巢還推出可可計劃,為小農民提供再生農業方法的培訓,更為他們提供幼苗。這個計劃改善了農作物收成,並有助加強社區聯繫。透過這種方式,雀巢在它的供應鏈中創造了共享價值。

 

基於4大重點創造共享價值

SVIHK的會員服務建基於 SVIHK 的四個營運重點。首先,我們尋求「啟發」,讓會員能更好地了解將共享價值嵌入企業文化的商業案例。我們「賦權」會員,透過精心定製的活動,建立他們自己的共享價值策略和文化。我們會定期「召集」社、商、官三方網絡、有關香港社會問題的專家,與會員合作設計具影響力、可擴展和有利可圖的解決方案來應對社會挑戰。最後,我們協助會員「轉化」商業模式,創建可創造社會影響力和長期盈利的模式。

 

保險業如何創造共享價值?

根據由麥可 • 波特教授(Prof. Michael Porter)和馬克 • 克瑞默(Mark Kramer)共同創辦的FSG諮詢顧問公司,保險是終極的共享價值行業,當中的社會影響是取得經濟成果不可或缺的一部份。透過集中中產階級的資源,我們可以創造有關生命和健康的產品,為那些無力負擔醫療護理的人提供能拯救生命的治療,或為其孤立無援的家人提供所需的身後事宜支援。同時,這些產品亦可減少事故、改善健康、及幫助機構更好地為經濟風險做好準備,各方面都可以提高保險公司的盈利能力。

我們的工作涉及多個範疇,由風險預防、解決服務不足客戶的需求,以至投資於有助疾病預防和保護的支援系統。在香港,我們屢獲殊榮的危疾產品不但涵蓋財務保障,更進一步包涵復發保障和康復計劃。這有助減輕家庭的財政負擔,並更全面地減輕更廣泛的社會負擔。

AXA 安盛更與菲律賓和泰國等新興市場的客戶合作。儘管這個群組往往無法獲得保險保障,AXA 安盛一直致力開發簡單、可負擔、因應他們需要的定制產品,令他們能保護他們所建立的東西,並減少意外風險的影響。

除了產品外,多個專家表示COVID-19疫情已將需時數年的數碼轉型及應用縮短至短短數月。這一點在2020年,病人因城市封鎖和社交距離限制而難以如常地看醫生或到醫院,導致遙距醫療發展大躍進時尤其明顯。AXA 安盛亞洲其時能與遙距醫療夥伴合作,提升他們的服務,並為亞洲超過1000萬人提供免費遙距諮詢,當中包括客戶和非客戶,以及位處醫療護理服務有限的偏遠地區、服務不足的病人。

由於疫情擾亂了亞洲的上班常規,對於僱主來說,最重大的問題在於如何為員工在此期間提供支援,同時為在家工作數月後重新回到辦公室作準備。AXA 安盛與我們的醫療了和心理學專家合作制定兩個指南,有助任何公司都能保護其僱員的心理和生理健康。這些指南為管理人員提供了如何解決職場上心理健康問題的詳細指導。

 

根據由波特教授和馬克 • 克瑞默共同創辦的FSG諮詢顧問公司,保險是終極的共享價值行業,當中的社會影響是取得經濟成果不可或缺的一部份。

靈感啟發

隨著共享價值概念慶祝成立10週年,全世界都希望克服我們正面臨的挑戰,而這個運動背後的推動力亦正隨年增長。作為Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong 的創始成員,AXA 安盛將繼續為SVIHK會員提供協助和新啟發,尤其是致力於將利潤和目的一致化的社會革新者。

 

About Gordon Watson

韋國敦(Gordon)為安盛亞洲區行政總裁及集團管理委員會成員,領導集團在日本、韓國、香港特別行政區、中國大陸、泰國、印尼和菲律賓的業務。

Written by Gordon Watson
CEO of AXA in Asia & Africa and Founding Chair of SVIHK

Inspiring trees on corporate purpose

Photo by ANGELA BENITO on Unsplash

CEO of AXA in Asia & Africa, Gordon Watson explains how he came to embrace Shared Value, a global movement which is celebrating its 10th anniversary this year, and became the Founding Chair of Shared Value Project Hong Kong, now renamed Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong.

Sustainability was an amorphous phrase when I first entered the workforce – it was limited to being ‘green’, reducing paper waste and recycling. It was easy to see how well-known not-for-profit groups like The Rainforest Alliance could contribute to the sustainability of our planet, but harder for corporations to demonstrate their commitment.

The UN launches its Sustainable Development Goals

Yet concrete commitments have been growing all around the world.  First, global leaders, heads of states and governments came together to adopt the United Nations (UN) Millennium Declaration. This committed their nations to a new global partnership to reduce extreme poverty. These eventually morphed into the UN Sustainable Development Goals, which act as a guide to the areas where we as a society need to make significant progress.

At the same time, I began to read about the work of major companies like Nestlé who were integrating social and environmental issues into the heart of their strategies. For example, a key feature of Nestlé’s approach is to locate aspects of production in the developing world, close to where the raw materials are sourced, in order to create added value in those communities. 45% of its factories and 48% of its employees are located in developing countries, even though these countries represent less than a third of its sales. Nestlé has publicly stated that a fundamental principle of its economic investments is that they should be “good for the country and good for the company”. Nestlé also introduced its Cocoa plan, training smallholder farmers on regenerative agricultural practices and equip them with seedlings. This improves crop yields and helps strengthen communities. In this way Nestlé creates Shared Value in its supply chain.

Creating Shared Value based on four pillars

SVIHK offers member services based on four pillars of operation. First, we seek to inspire greater understanding of the business case for embedding Shared Value in corporate culture. Second, we empower our members to build their own Shared Value strategy and culture through access to tailored activities. Third, we convene tri-sector experts on Hong Kong societal issues to work with members on designing impactful, scalable and profitable solutions to these challenges. Fourth, we help members transform business models to create social impact and long-term performance.

How can insurance create Shared Value?

According to FSG, the consulting firm co-founded by Michael Porter and Mark Kramer, insurance is the ultimate Shared Value industry, where social impact is integral to economic success. By pooling the resources of the middle class, we can create life and health products that bring life-saving treatments to individuals who would not be able to afford the type of health care or post-life support for their family that they need if they were working on their own. Meanwhile, reducing accidents, improving health, and helping organizations better prepare for economic risks all improve the profitability of insurers.

Our work spans multiple areas, from risk prevention to addressing the needs of underserved customers and investing in support systems that help with prevention and protection. Here in Hong Kong, our award-winning critical illness product not only covers financial protection but goes beyond to cover protection for relapse and offers programs for rehabilitation. This helps to alleviate the financial burden on the family as well as on wider society in a more comprehensive way.

AXA also works with emerging customers in markets such as the Philippines and Thailand. Whereas insurance would often be out of reach for such groups, AXA has worked to develop simple, affordable products tailored to their needs to enable them to protect what they have built and reduce the impact of unexpected risks.

Looking beyond products alone, many experts are saying that the COVID-19 pandemic has condensed years of digital transformation and adoption into a matter of months. This has never been more evident than in the huge jump that telehealth made in 2020, when lockdowns and social distancing made routine visits to doctors or hospitals nearly impossible. AXA Asia was able to work with telehealth partners to ramp up their services and offer free teleconsultations to over 10 million people across Asia, both customers and non-customers, including underserved patients in remote, rural areas with limited healthcare access.

With the pandemic disrupting working practices in Asia, a major concern for employers has also been to support employees through this period while preparing for a return to the office after months spent working from home. AXA worked with our medical and psychological experts to produce two guides that would enable any company to safeguard its employees’ mental and physical health. These provided detailed guidance for managers on how to address mental health at work.

According to FSG, the consulting firm co-founded by Michael Porter and Mark Kramer, insurance is the ultimate Shared Value industry, where social impact is integral to economic success.

Providing Inspiration

With the Shared Value concept now celebrating its 10th anniversary, momentum behind the movement continues to grow year on year as the world looks to overcome the challenges we face. As a Founding Member of Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong, AXA will continue to offer help and inspiration to new members of SVIHK, particularly social innovators who are committed to aligning profit and purpose.

About Gordon Watson

Gordon Watson is the Chief Executive Officer of AXA Asia and a member of the Management Committee of AXA Group. Gordon has a MBA and is both a Fellow of the Chartered Insurance Institute and the Society of Marketing.