雀巢透過植物性產品組合創造共享價值

如何推進淨零路線圖 推動創新和市場增長

公司簡介

雀巢集團起源於1866年的瑞士,目前是全球領先的「營養、健康、幸福生活」企業。雀巢的目標是充分發掘食品的力量,提升每個個體的生活品質,無論現在還是未來。

雀巢香港早於19世紀便透過貿易活動,將優質產品引進香港。於1874以NESTLÉ’S EAGLE BRAND®成為香港第一個註冊商標。時至今日,雀巢香港已發展成為本港主要的食品飲品公司之一,多元化業務包括奶類產品、乳酪產品、穀類早餐、嬰幼兒食品、咖啡飲品、樽裝及罐裝飲品、糖果、雪糕及冰凍甜點、豆類製品、調味品、寵物食品、保健營養產品等,產品豐富多樣,致力為消費者提供營養、健康、優質及安全的食品選擇。

社會關注議題

氣候變化是我們所面臨的最大環境挑戰之一。 聯合國糧食及農業組織報告稱,2018 年農業排放量佔全球溫室氣體排放量的 17%。Good Food Institute 在 2019 年亦發現,植物肉的溫室氣體排放量比傳統肉類少大概30-90%。所有指標均顯示,植物性替代品的影響低於其乳製類近產品。根據研究,植物性替代品產生的溫室氣體排放量約少三倍、使用約少十倍的土地、以及使用大約少二至二十倍的淡水。

作為簽署聯合國「1.5°C商業目標」的企業之一,雀巢是其中一家最早於2020年12月發佈詳細行動計劃「淨零碳排放路線圖」並早於預期採取行動的企業。該路線圖旨在支持可持續發展和幫助應對氣候變化,而雀巢其中一個關鍵行動就是改變其產品組合,持續擴展其低碳的植物性食品及飲品系列,並調整產品配方以減少對環境的損害。

在香港,不少消費者希望通過飲食習慣,包括選擇植物性產品去為環境保護出一分力,及為營養和健康帶來好處。有見及此,雀巢香港作為「優質食品、美好生活」(Good food, Good life)的企業,履行其企業承諾,為消費者提供對他們和地球有益的產品。

May Chung Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

雀巢香港總經理鍾美玲表示,香港消費者關心他們的環境足跡以及營養或健康方面的考慮。圖片來源:雀巢香港

共享價值策略

作為領先的營養、健康和幸福生活企業,雀巢相信企業在拓展新商機的同時,亦需回應社會需求。因此創造共享價值是雀巢業務發展不可或缺的一部份。

雀巢自2019年起不斷推出新的植物性食品和飲品,包括在歐洲、大洋洲和亞洲逐步引入各種植物性產品。以植物性產品而言,雀巢在全球擁有約300名產品研發的科學家和工程師。為了使產品更符合亞洲消費者的需求,雀巢亦充份利用其在新加坡、中國北京等地的研發中心,設計出更加符合當地消費者口味的食品。雀巢亦在世界各地設立了多個植物性產品的生產基地,其中兩個位於亞洲 —— 中國及馬來西亞。

在香港,除了家喻戶曉的豆類製品系列外,雀巢近兩年亦參考本地市場的趨勢,積極拓展植物性產品系列,包括推出植物蛋白飲料系列、smoothie飲品、專業餐飲業務所用的植物肉產品,以及純素咖啡膠囊系列等等。

專業餐飲業務的植物肉品牌 Harvest Gourmet 於 2021 年 4 月推出。這是雀巢香港首次在香港推出植物肉類別的產品,讓消費者透過不同的餐飲渠道,嘗試以低碳的植物性產品替代傳統肉類,而這些產品亦為素食市場在常見的中式素餐以外帶來更多選擇。

為了讓消費者更了解植物性產品能為環境和健康所帶來的正面影響,雀巢亦於其消費者溝通渠道,例如社交媒體宣傳活動中,加入環保資訊。

跨類別植物性產品豐富了雀巢在全球的產品組合,並為業務帶來正面影響。根據雀巢 2021 年年度報告,植物性產品在 2021 年的銷售額約為 8 億瑞士法郎(8.25 億美元),有機增長為 16.8%。雀巢香港預計雀巢植物性產品在專業餐飲業務的市場佔有率,於2024年較現在將達到雙倍之增長。

植物性產品讓消費者有機會參與應對氣候變化。在傳統產品之外,植物性產品提供了碳足印更小而更可持續發展的選擇,可讓消費者轉向更為環保的植物性飲食,從而為子孫後代創造可持續發展的未來。同時,植物性飲食在消費者中的受歡迎程度亦越來越高。

我們相信雀巢通過在香港提供我們的植物性產品,在應對氣候變化方面發揮著至關重要的作用。” 雀巢香港有限公司總經理鍾美玲

展望未來

透過擴展植物性產品組合,提供碳足印更小而更可持續發展的選擇,雀巢香港希望為社會及其股東創造共享價值。

社會裨益
企業裨益
應對氣候變化 – 通過擴展植物性產品組合,提供碳足印更小而更可持續發展的選擇 強化營養、健康和幸福生活企業之領先位置 – 憑籍我們產品組合的擴展,提醒消費者雀巢對營養、健康和幸福生活的關注
為可持續發展的未來作出貢獻 – 讓消費者轉向更環保的植物性飲食 促進業務收益 – 提供更廣泛的產品以滿足不斷變化的市場需求
Read more case studies

Nestlé leverages its plant-based portfolio
to create shared value

How progressing the Net Zero Roadmap
drives innovation and market growth

Company overview: Nestlé, a global purpose

Nestlé was founded in Switzerland in 1866, today it has grown to be the leading company promoting Nutrition, Health, and Wellness. Nestlé’s purpose is to “unlock the power of food to enhance quality of life for everyone, today and for generations to come”.

In 1874, “NESTLÉ’S EAGLE BRAND®” condensed milk was granted the first trademark in Hong Kong. Today, Nestle Hong Kong has become one of the leading food and beverage companies in Hong Kong and its diversified range of businesses includes dairy products, yoghurt products, breakfast cereal, baby and toddler food, coffee, bottled and canned beverages, confectionary, ice cream and chilled desserts, soya products, culinary, pet care and healthcare nutrition products, etc. This provides consumers with a wide range of options for nutritional, healthy and safe high-quality products.

The social issue: tackling climate change

Climate change is one of the biggest environmental challenges the world faces. The UN Food and Agriculture Organisation reported that agricultural emissions accounted for 17% of global greenhouse gas emissions in 2018. And The Good Food Institute also found in 2019 that plant-based meat emits 30 – 90% less greenhouse gas emissions than conventional meat. Plant-based alternatives also have lower impacts than dairy counterparts across all metrics. According to research, they cause around three times less greenhouse gas emissions; use around ten times less land; two to twenty times less freshwater.

As a signatory of the UN Business Ambition for 1.5°C pledge, Nestlé is one of the first companies to share its detailed, time-bound Net Zero Roadmap in December 2020 and to do so ahead of schedule. The Roadmap aims to support sustainability and help tackle climate change, and one of Nestlé’s key actions is transforming its product portfolio by continuously expanding its offering of low-carbon plant-based food and beverages while reformulating products to make them more environmentally friendly.

In Hong Kong, people are also looking to vary their diets with more plant-based options, to lower their environmental footprint as well as for nutrition or health considerations. As a Good food, Good life company, Nestlé Hong Kong is also continuing to make good on their promise to offer consumers products that are good for them and for the planet.

May Chung Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

According to May Chung, General Manager, Nestlé Hong Kong, consumers in Hong Kong are concerned about their environmental footprint as well as nutritional or health considerations. Photo Credit: Nestlé Hong Kong

The shared value strategy

As a leading company in promoting Nutrition, Health and Wellness, Nestlé believes that business benefits and positive societal impact must be mutually reinforcing. This is the core of Creating Shared Value (“CSV”), which is fundamental to how Nestlé does business.

Since 2019, Nestlé has started to introduce different kinds of plant-based products gradually across Europe, Oceania, and Asia. Globally, Nestlé has around 300 R&D scientists, engineers, and product developers dedicated to the research and development of plant-based products. To adapt its products to Asian consumer needs, the company leverages its R&D centers in Singapore, Beijing, China, and elsewhere. The Group has also set up various plant-based production sites all over the world, with two in Asia – Tianjin, China, and Shah Alam, Malaysia.

In Hong Kong, in addition to its renowned soyabean products, the company has also been growing its plant-based portfolio in consideration of local market preference these two years by launching plant protein drinks, smoothie drinks, as well as the latest plant-based meat products for catering channels and vegan coffee capsules.

The plant-based meat brand, HARVEST GOURMET®, for the professional food service business was launched in April 2021. It is the first time Nestlé Hong Kong has launched products in the plant-based meat category in Hong Kong, to enable consumers to try out lower-carbon plant-based alternatives to traditional meat through different catering channels. These innovations also provide more varieties for plant-based options in the market in addition to those commonly seen in vegetarian Chinese cuisine.

“We believe that Nestlé has a vital role to play in the fight against climate change by providing our plant-based products in Hong Kong.”
May Chung, General Manager, Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd.

To uplift consumers’ awareness of the environmental and health benefits of its products, Nestlé has also incorporated the green message in its communication initiatives such as social media promotions.

The cross-category plant-based products enriched Nestlé’s product portfolio globally and delivered a positive impact on the business. According to Nestlé’s 2021 Annual Review, plant-based food products generated sales of around CHF 800 million (USD 825 million) in 2021, posting 16.8% organic growth. Nestlé Hong Kong is expecting to double its market share of plant-based products in the food service sector by 2024.

Plant-based innovations give consumers the opportunity to join in the fight against climate change. Parallel to traditional products, they provided more accessible and sustainable food and beverage options with a smaller carbon footprint, facilitating consumers to adapt to a more environmentally friendly plant-based diet which contributes to a sustainable future for generations to come. Their popularity is growing amongst consumers.

Future outlook

By providing more accessible and sustainable food and beverage options with a smaller carbon footprint through the expansion of a plant-based product portfolio, Nestlé Hong Kong hopes to create positive value for both the society and shareholders.

Societal Benefits
Business Benefits 
Combat climate change – providing more accessible and sustainable food and beverage options with a smaller carbon footprint through the expansion of a plant-based product portfolio Reinforce leadership as a Nutrition, Health, and Wellness company – riding on the expansion of our portfolio to remind consumers of Nestlé’s focus on Nutrition, Health, and Wellness
Contribute to a sustainable future – facilitating consumers to adapt to a more environmentally friendly plant-based diet Drive business revenue – offering a wider range of products to meet changing market needs
Read more case studies