CHANGEMAKER PORTAL

啟發改變的實地考察

by | 9 月 3, 2021

一個不能再逃避的問題:香港迫切需要新的循環經濟模式 

著者:共享價值計劃香港研究和內容協調員Olivier Fribourg 

8月初,共享價值計劃香港 (SVIHK) 帶領 20 多名企業代表作循環經濟的實地考察。這次活動在開始我們的發展循環經濟主題倡議的三個月後舉行。考察的目標單純但富有野心,我們期待透過實地考察激發參與者的熱烈反應,從而觸發合作夥伴公司產生轉變。 

可以肯定的是,所有的28 名企業代表都帶著複雜的心情回家。我們對每天產生的垃圾數量感到震驚和憂慮,這些垃圾被埋在地下,其中三分之一將會被回收¹。我們以前都曾經聽說過有關香港垃圾的情況;然而,這一次就在我們眼前及四周。 

另一方面,我們亦因為看到了個人可以透過社會企業而逐步實現夢想而啟發。憑著堅定的決心和貢獻精神在短短幾年內,從最初有限的知識和資源,也有可能做出改變可以將大多數人認為毫無價值的材料變成漂亮的家具。心態是可以改變的價值是可以被重新賦予我們可以令經濟循環。 

垃圾山還是機遇之地?

我們的行業合作夥伴蘇伊士集團(SUEZ)熱情地邀請我們參觀位於屯門西北部的新界西垃圾堆填區(WENT)。 

香港每天產生 12,000 噸城市和固體廢物 (MSW),在亞洲城市中位居前列。根據環保署 2020 年的統計,WENT 的每日堆填量達到 6,400 噸,足以證明其重要性。如果沒有被回收,固體廢物被丟棄後,就會先在七個垃圾轉運站之一短暫停留,然後通過貨櫃船或陸路貨運到達堆填區進行掩埋。  

當你面對堆填區時它看起來像一座佔地 110 公頃的垃圾山,上面覆蓋著一層亮藍色的防水布。香港擁有世界上最大的兩個垃圾堆填區,包括了 WENT在內,均由 SUEZ 營運。因為每天都會在表面噴灑除臭劑控制氣味堆填區的氣味並不像我們預期的那麼糟糕。 

 

香港擁有兩個世界上最大的垃圾,包括WENT在內,這兩個垃圾區均由 SUEZ營運  

 

在垃圾,SUEZ 幫助開展了多個循環項目其中有污水處理和天然氣發電設施,將分解廢物產生的氣體轉化為電力,供香港家庭使用。 

我們駕駛的頂部,感覺就像一群探險家踏上了新大陸。 站在這座人造的山頂上,儘管烏佈,我們可以看到遠處深圳的建築,還有無數的生蠔養殖場漂浮在與內地接壤海面 

 

People viewing landfill

 

機正在移動垃圾,盡可能壓縮它,時還有源源不斷的貨車開進來傾倒垃圾。 我們不禁想到,在這個不成形處,堆積著我們自己的垃圾。我們在平日丟棄垃圾時通常不會多加考慮當親眼目睹垃圾變成了一個更加個人問題。 我們立即理解到這種線性的採取-製造-棄置系統並不可持續。 

 

WENT 將在內填滿 


 

WENT 預計將在 2026 年之前被填滿²。 我們消耗太多,丟棄太多了。 現在是時候做點改變同時動員我們的家人、 朋友和同事們現在我們清楚明白,直線性系統不是一個選項循環是唯一的方法。 我們必須減少、重用和回收。 

靈感生長在樹上 

到訪垃圾堆填區之後的第二個目的地是香港木庫 (HK Timberbank)。香港木庫是 2018 年成立的環保社會企業,其使命是賦予本地被廢棄木材第二次生命。本地木材經常被丟棄在垃圾堆填區而沒有被考慮其潛力。  

當我們到達元朗工業區時,首先讓我們留下深刻印象的是新鮮砍伐的木材的香氣香港木庫的創辦人黃卓健先生 ( Ricci Wong)在 15,000 平方尺的倉庫門口迎接我們,倉庫內有十幾棵樹木正等著被改造成漂亮的家具。 

Ricci解釋說:「我們知道如何收集樹木樹藝師和政府部門在發現一棵垂死或已倒下的樹木時都會打電話給我們 

 

Ricci Wong speaking

 

Ricci我們參觀解釋,他在創辦香港木庫前對木工一無所知在大學主修的是建築和數碼設計。 在倉庫的一邊,在最近砍下的樹枝和樹之間,有一個似潛艇的大容器,用來烘乾木材。 在倉庫的另一邊,三位藝術家正專注於他們的工作,鑽孔、切割和打磨木材。Ricci:「我通常裸著上身工作,因為夏天倉庫裡的氣溫是 40 度。 但今天因為你們到訪,我穿襯衫。 

 

我們知道如何建造國際金融中心,但我們不知道如何處理一塊木頭。 

香港木庫創辦人黃卓健先生 

 

我們走進有空調的陳列室,看到了令人驚嘆的桌子、長凳和時鐘。Ricci向我們講述他創立香港木庫的故事非常鼓舞人心。 2018年,颱風山竹在山頂馬己仙峽道吹斷了一棵400年樹齡的樟樹,Ricci生動地解釋:「這棵樹在明朝就已經存在。」  

該斷樹共重 14 噸,直徑 2 米沒有人願意接收處理它。Ricci只有兩天的時間來決定他是否應該接收這棵斷樹並實現他的雄心,還是讓當局把它當廢棄物處理。其他人看到的是負擔,但Ricci看到的是機會。雖然他花了港幣一萬元才把這棵斷樹放到貨車上,但他從未後悔過。今天,你可以欣賞甚至坐在這棵斷樹上,因為它已被重新設計成為在西貢鹽田梓舉行的鹽田梓藝術節的展品樟木長凳。 

颱風山竹連根拔起約三萬噸樹木,其中 99.9% 最終被埋在垃圾堆填區。每年,香港從海外進口約三百噸木材,但亦有相同數量的本地木材被送往垃圾堆填區。原因?人們不認為本地木材有價值,也不知道可以如何使用它。 

Ricci 開玩笑說:「我們知道如何建造國際金融中心,但我們不知道如何處理一塊木頭。」這是既諷刺又令人不安的現實。他舉了另一個例子,就是香港常見的榕樹,因為它是柔軟、有液體、粘稠的木頭因為我們不知道如何處理它總是把它丟棄。但其實,榕木一經乾燥,木質就會變得非常堅固和耐用。  

2020 年,香港木庫將三百三十噸本地木材轉化為商業用材料、家具和戶外藝術裝置。市民可以在K11 Musea、賽馬會、全港各間咖啡廳和商店,以及香港政府環境保護署辦公大樓欣賞香港木庫的作品。 

 

Woodworking

 

Ricci 想走得更遠:他正在與本地大學合作,收集有關香港現有的四百種樹木的資料數據。 目標是像進口外國木材一樣認證本地木材。 日後個人和機構將會可以認識到香港木材的真正價值,並且減少對進口木材的依賴。 香港木庫計劃為商業機構提供建造建築物和船隻的原材料,Ricci 甚至渴望用他們收集到的木材建造一座兩層高的房屋 

Ricci的熱情和雄心是改變的絕對催化劑。 他相信自己有能力做出改變,並且受到影響的驅動。 他的旅程證明了大膽的想法加上勇氣和努力相結合可以創造價值。 這是我們希望帶給合作夥伴公司的靈感 

這次實地考察取得成果的秘訣是? 

這次考察涉及到一個挑戰這個挑戰高180米,寬100 公頃,需要民間社會、企業和政府的共同努力。 

這次考察邀請了一群有好奇心的人他們渴望可以親眼目睹這個挑戰以及它的解決方案 

這次考察展現了解決方案。解決方案形式及範圍可能並不相同但他們有一個共同點:將挑戰轉化為機會。這就是共享價值計劃香港通過發展的循環經濟計劃而在努力實現的目標。我們正在幫助我們的合作夥伴公司確定其供應鏈中的循環機會,並利用合作夥伴關係的力量來創建循環商業模式。這是認識到循環經濟意味著繁榮的經濟,組織、人員和生態系統會在其中蓬勃發展。 

我們要非常感謝 SUEZ 向我們展示了他們在 WENT 垃圾堆填區為政府和為香港所做的極其重要和發人深省的工作。 

我們還要感謝黃卓健先生為我們打開了他的倉庫的大門我們期待看到他和他的公司的未來。 

¹立法會財務委員工務小組委員會20213 21  

關於Olivier Fribourg 

Olivier headshot

Olivier Fribourg 是共享價值計劃香港的研究和內容協調員。 他於 2021 年 4 月畢業於麥吉爾大學 (McGill University),獲得商業學士學位,主修可持續發展管理。 

Share This

A Problem Made Conscious: the Vital Need for New Circularity Models in Hong Kong

Written by Olivier Fribourg, Research and Content Coordinator at SVIHK

In early August, Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong (SVIHK) led 20 corporate participants on a Circular Economy field trip. Three months after launching our Growing Circular Economy Thematic Initiative, the objective of this event was simple yet ambitious: provoke the fierce reactions it requires to trigger changes among our partner companies represented that day.

It is safe to assume that all 28 participants went back home that evening with mixed feelings. We felt shocked and relatively worried about the amount of trash that we generate every day and that is buried in and above ground, knowing that a third of it will be recovered¹. We had heard the facts about Hong Kong’s waste before; however, this time it was there, in front of our eyes, all around us.

On the other hand, we were inspired by what an individual and his dream of social enterprise can achieve. In just a few years with so little initial knowledge and resources, but with great determination and dedication, it is possible to make a change. It is possible to turn materials most people perceived as worthless into beautiful pieces of furniture. Mindsets can be shifted. Value can be retrieved. Our economies can become circular.

Mountain of Waste or Land of Opportunity?

 

Our Industry Partner SUEZ had warmly invited us to the West New Territories (WENT) landfill located in the northwest district of Tuen Mun.

Hong Kong generates 12,000 tons of Municipal and Solid Waste (MSW) every day, some of the highest in Asian cities. According to EPD statistics in 2020, WENT takes in 6,400 tons daily, proof of the site’s critical importance for Hong Kong. If not recycled, the MSW makes a quick stop at one of the seven refuse transfer stations once being thrown away at our homes, and arrives at the landfills by container vessels or by road to be buried.

When you have it in front of you, the landfill might look like a mountain of waste spanning 110 hectares covered in a bright blue tarpaulin. Hong Kong hosts two of the world’s largest strategic landfills, including WENT, both of which are operated by SUEZ. The smell was not as bad as we had expected it to be. To control odor, deodorizer is sprayed on the landfill surface every day.

Hong Kong hosts two of the world’s largest strategic landfills, including WENT, both of which are operated by SUEZ

 

At the landfill, SUEZ helps conduct several circular projects. An onsite water treatment plant and a gas-to-energy plant that turns the gas emanating from decomposing waste into electricity for onsite usage and local households.

We drove to the top of the landfill and felt like a group of explorers setting foot on a new land. Standing on top of this man-made hill, we could make out the buildings of Shenzhen, despite the clouds, along with a myriad of oyster parks floating on the sea, only border with the mainland.

Compactors were moving the trash around, compressing it as much as possible, while incoming trucks continue to add to the load. We could not help but think that somewhere, in this shapeless mass, was sitting our own rubbish. At the landfill, the garbage that we often do not think about when we dispose of it in a bin becomes a much more personal issue. The realisation that this linear “take-make-dispose” system is not sustainable happens instantly.

WENT will be full in a few years


WENT is expected to be full by 2026². We consume too much. We throw away too much. Now is the moment to do something about it. Now we really know, and we shall pass the word to our family, friends, and colleagues. Linearity is not an option. Circularity is the only way. We must reduce, reuse, recycle.

Inspiration Grows on Trees 

Our second destination after the landfill was HK Timberbank, an eco-social enterprise founded in 2018 with a mission to give a second life to local timber, way too often disposed at landfills with no consideration of its potential.

The first thing that struck us when we arrived at this industrial area of Yuen Long was the delicious smell of freshly cut wood. Ricci Wong, founder of HK Timberbank, met us at the entrance of his 15,000 square feet warehouse where a dozen trees were waiting to be transformed into beautiful pieces of furniture.

“We know how to collect trees, explained Ricci. Today, arborists and government departments call us whenever they spot a dying or fallen tree.”

Ricci did not know a thing about woodwork before starting HK Timberbank, he explained while showing us around. At university, he studied architecture and digital design. Between recently cut branches and trunks, there was a large hoven resembling a submarine used to dry the wood. On the other side of the warehouse, three artists were diligently focused on their work, drilling, cutting, and polishing wood. “I usually work topless because it is 40 degrees in the warehouse during summer time, said Ricci. But for you today, I am wearing a shirt.”

“We know how to build the IFC, but we do not know how to treat a piece of wood.”
Ricci Wong, Founder of HK Timberbank

In the air-conditioned showroom where stunning tables, benches, and clocks were exposed, Ricci told us the inspiring story of how he founded his company.  In 2018, Typhoon Mangkhut broke a branch of a 400 years-old Camphor tree on Magazine Gap road, at the Peak. “The tree was around during the Ming Dynasty”, jubilated Ricci.

The branch was 14 tons heavy and 2 meters in diameter. Nobody wanted to take care of it. Ricci had only two days to decide whether he should take the branch and pursue his ambition, or let the authorities dispose of it. Where people saw a burden, Ricci saw an opportunity. It cost him HK$ 10,000 to get the branch on a truck. He never regretted it. Today, you can admire and even sit on the branch as it has been redesigned into a Camphor bench for the Yin Tin Tsai Arts Festival in Salt Field Island, in Sai Kung.

Mangkhut uprooted 30,000 tons of trees that year with 99.9% ending up at a landfill. Every year, 300 tons of wood are imported from overseas. Every year, the same amount of local timber is sent to landfills. The reason? People do not perceive local wood as valuable nor do they know how to use it.

“We know how to build the IFC but we do not know how to treat a piece of wood”, joked Ricci. The irony was unsettling. He gave us the example of the Banyan tree, so typical in Hong Kong, and its soft, juicy, and sticky wood. We throw it away because we do not know what to do with it. Once dried, though, the wood becomes very strong and resistant.

In 2020, HK Timberbank turned 330 tons of local wood into commercial materials, pieces of furniture, and outdoor art installations. People can admire HK Timberbank’s work at K11 Musea, the Jockey Club, in various cafes and stores across town, and at the government Environment Bureau’s office building.

Ricci wants to go even further: he is working with local universities to gather data about the 400 types of trees existing in our city. The goal is to certified local wood just like imported foreign timber is. Then, people and organisations will recognize Hong Kong timber’s true value and will reduce the city’s reliance on imports. HK Timberbank plans to supply companies with raw materials for the construction of buildings and boats. Ricci even aspires to build a 2-story house with the trees they collect.

Ricci’s passion and ambition were absolute catalysts for change. He believes in his ability to make a change and is driven by impact. His journey is the testimonial that bold ideas combined with courage and hard work can create value. This is the inspiration we were hoping to bring to our partner companies.

What Made this Field Trip a Success?

It took a challenge. This challenge is 180 meters high and 100 hectares wide and requires the joined effort from the civil society, businesses, and the government.

It took a group of curious individuals eager to see this challenge for themselves and the solutions addressing it.

It took solutions. Solutions are different in forms. They are different in scope. But they have a common point: they turn challenges into opportunities. This is what SVIHK is working towards with our Growing Circular Economy initiative. We are helping our partner companies identify circularity opportunities along their supply chains and leverage the power of partnerships to create circular business models. It is recognizing that a circular economy means a prosperous economy, where organisations, people and ecosystems thrive.

We want to warmly thank SUEZ for showing us the incredibly important and thought-provoking work they are doing at the WENT landfill for the government and the city of Hong Kong.

We also want to thank Ricci for opening the doors of his warehouse to us. We look forward to seeing what the future holds for him and his company.

² MONITORING OF SOLID WASTE IN HONG KONG, Waste Statistics 2019, EPD, December 20

About Olivier Fribourg

Olivier Fribourg is the Research & Content Coordinator at Shared Value Initiative Hong Kong. He graduated from McGill University in April 2021 with a Bachelor of Commerce, majoring in Managing for Sustainability.