載入程式圖片

CHANGEMAKER PORTAL

以共享價值領先的Ayala Corporation

by | 10 月 13, 2021

針對服務不足的市場層的創商業模式來推動發展

Fernando Zobel de Ayala speaking

介紹

Ayala Corporation 於 1834 年成立,是菲律賓最多元化的企業集團之一。 Ayala 在菲律賓建立了第一間藥房、銀行和電車系統,此後與政府合作,通過幫助發展菲律賓的戰略產業來促進國家發展Ayala在房地產、銀行、教育、健康和能源等多個領域擁有商業利益,在推動菲律賓經濟和社會發展方面發揮了關鍵作用 

機會/商業案例

在過去的數十年裡,菲律賓的經濟發展迅速,為許多人創造了就業機會和更高的收入。 然而,必要的基礎設施和社會機構的發展往往難以跟上步伐,尤其是在金融、醫療保健、教育以及水電等等的基本服務方面。 要解決這些問題需要政府和私營商業機構提供充份的資源和專業知識。 

Ayala 認識到菲律賓的掙扎以及建立強大的社區在促進集團業務發展方面的利益關係。 Ayala 的領導人看到了看到了機會,利用集團自身資源和專業知識來幫助開發必要的基礎設施,並進一步推動該國的社會和經濟進步的機會。 此外,這家多元化的企業集團在塑造菲律賓的房地產、銀行和電信行業方面發揮了重要的主導作用,這都是Ayala可以創造更多社會和經濟價值的有利因素。 

共享價值原則一直是 Ayala 投資理念的一部分,但這些發展最終帶來 Ayala 的企業戰略轉變。從 90 年代開始一直持續到現在,Ayala在企業創新及發展方面正式採用共享價值為原則。事實上,這一決定是出於希望解決菲律賓迫切的社會和經濟問題。 Ayala 採用共享價值方法的「逆向創新」理念,旨在發掘針對具有挑戰性的社會問題的新商業模式。但至關重要的是,這種新商業模式在財務上具有可持續性並具有可擴展性。這種模式既可創造本地市場,又可以由本地市場維持營運,既而可以促進社會和經濟的發展,直到該商業模式成為更成熟及高利潤的企業。這個模式的實現需要與政府建立強有力的合作夥伴關係來引入必要的資源,從而建立商業成功所需的基礎設施。 

Ayala 的前提很簡單在關鍵的社會需求仍未得到滿足的領域進行創新,並通過可負擔並且可複制的商業模式為機構創造新的經濟增長這需要高管層強而有力的領導,對國家的潛力和集團推動變革的能力有長遠的眼光。 由 90 年代Ayala開始進入供水和電信領域,並成功發展和持續投資於醫療保健、教育、普及金融和能源等領域 

創造共享價值的策略 

醫療保健

Ayala 視醫療保健為菲律賓的一個高影響力行業,因為它在 2015 年左右發現了三個主要趨勢:1) 鑑於政府致力於將主要醫療保健政策和基礎設施制度化,醫療保健正在成為國家議程的重要組成部分。 2) 鑑於公共和私營部門的醫療保健支出不斷增加醫療支出在國民個人消費中的比率不斷增加,醫療保健是未來的增長領域。 3) 考慮到整個醫療保健業以及菲律賓人一生中的基本問題——從嬰兒死亡率、孕產婦死亡、營養問題、長期疾病和姑息治療的質量,顛覆菲律賓醫療保健業的時機已經成熟。 

 

Ayala - Groundbreaking Ceremony

 

面對這一項挑戰,Ayala通過其子公司 AC 健康進入醫療領域,目標是在 2030 年為五分之一的菲律賓人提供無障礙及可負擔的優質醫療保健。Ayala 首次涉足該領域的嘗試是建立創新模式的三合一診所,稱為 FamilyDOC,把診症、實驗室和藥房融會在一起,以公眾可承受的價格提供關鍵的服務。Ayala 打算將這些診所設立在能夠產生最大影響的地方,即基層公共衛生機構服務不足的高密度社區內,並且與更大(和更昂貴)的設施保持遠距離。這種模式針對的是「非消費者」,如果他們相信自己會得到正確的診斷和治療,他們願意付費。大多數求診者所需的治療都是非常基本的,護士完全能夠處理,與醫生相比,員工成本比較低。值得注意的是,也常常是其目標患者的關鍵醫療需求,以往他們或會推遲治療直到病情惡化,又或者花費大量金錢在大型醫院接受治療。這種節省了的價格轉嫁給了求診者,允許以他們以較低的費用獲得基本的醫療保健。這種模式取得了巨大的成功,到 2017 年已經能夠擴展和服務超過兩萬名基層求診者,相對於私人醫療保健,求診者平均節省 40% 的諮詢費用。 

在這成功的基礎上,AC 健康 的 FamilyDOC 診所於 2020 年初與菲律賓領先的初級保健診所網絡之一的 Healthway Philippines Inc 合併,以擴大其醫療保健業務的覆蓋範圍。 AC 健康現今擁有 7 家專科診所和另外 40 家企業診所,更能夠迎合日益廣泛的消費者群,提供一系列門診服務,包括專科諮詢、專科診斷和門診手術服務等等。 

 

截至 2017 年,FamilyDOC 模式已經服務了 20,000 名求診者 

 

 

與 Healthway 網絡的整合進一步促進了 AC 健康在非專利藥房和藥品供應(Generika Drugstore 和 IE Medica)、健康技術(HealthNow)和三級大型的醫院網絡(QualiMed)方面的投資。 AC 健康還在建設一家癌症專科醫院,希望將這種可負擔、無障礙和優質的腫瘤治療的想法,作為對政府癌症控制計劃的回應。 通過實現更廣泛的全民醫療保健覆蓋並提供更整體的護理,Ayala 能夠滿足基本的社會需求,同時創建可擴展的商業模式。 

教育

失業和就業不足是菲律賓主要的社會問題,而教育可以解決部分的問題,所以Ayala 於 2012 年通過 AC教育進入教育領域。同年,它推出了名為專業就業計劃 (PEP) 的創新解決方案。 

PEP 是學術界和工業界之間的橋樑該計劃的目標是顯著提高畢業生的就業能力在一個技能供求嚴重失衡的市場中,畢業生很難找到好工作,而僱主也很難找到已充分準備好就業的人材,PEP 的主要目標是幫助畢業生裝在行業成功所需要的所有技能(包括硬技能和軟技能),幫助他們脫穎而出。 

PEP 學員需要接受五個月的嚴格培訓,藉以提高他們成功及保持就業的能力這是一項以技術驅動的培訓體驗,旨在完全模擬工作場所,沒有講課、功課或考試,教授則扮演僱主角色。 學員於真實的工作環境中,完成被分配到的各種工作項目和解決項目相關的問題,結果及成績會根據工作完成指標進行評估。 

數據是 PEP 中的關鍵原素。 它允許該項目不斷創新。 畢業生在畢業後的工作表現會根據一系列就業能力指標來評估畢業生的表現。 與僱主的戰略合作夥伴關係使新出現的困難得以進入相關人員的視野,並有助於預測日後所需要的新技能。 

 

Student audience for AC Education

 

這些具洞察力的資訊使 AC 教育能夠了解業務需求的演變和現況,並在 PEP 的每屆培訓中優先考慮培訓職場最高需求的技能。 正因為這樣,PEP 能夠認定就業市場的空白點並針對僱主不斷發展更新的技能需求來調整這些就業前的「最後一里」計劃項目。AC 教育隨後與 iPeople 合併,現時擁有 7 所學校,大約 50,000 名學生。 

自成立以來,PEP 已與埃森哲和Ayala集團、BPI 和 Globe 等夥伴合作,培養了數千名學生,他們在行銷和零售、銀行、金融、資訊科技和商務流程外判 等界別取得了成功。 

PEP 畢業生取得了非常高的就業率和起薪點。 在 2019-20 學年,儘管在全球瘟疫大流行的第一年進入職場,在 iPeople的國立師範學院的 PEP 畢業生實現了在 90 天內達到 94% 的就業率,每月平均薪金為 18,222 菲律賓比索,超過馬尼拉都會區最低工資的 14,007 比索約30%。 

 

AC 教育擁有七所學校和五萬名學生 

 

 

迄今為止,PEP 最活躍的合作夥伴之一是埃森哲。其技術能力負責人表示,由於 PEP學生的質量,iPeople 成為它們的頂級招聘合作夥伴。 他報告說,從良好的態度、工作習慣到良好的英語會話能力和技術技能,學生們都具備了完整的技能。 因為學生的質素,埃森哲正在與 iPeople 合作創建增長版本的 PEP,其中將包括埃森哲的技術學習計劃戰略性地融入課程中,以確保培訓內容與工作完全整合和保持一致,主要目的是實現質量規模並支持埃森哲的快速增長。 

PEP 之所以有效,是因為它位於一個創新的就業系統中,該系統提供勞動力發展培訓、招聘和就業以及勞動力市場情報。 從 2021-22 學年開始,iPeople 每年將有大約 2,000 名大學畢業生接受 PEP的培訓。 PEP 將顯著擴展,因為它現在已完全融入學校的課程中。 通過 PEP,Ayala 找到了一個可持續的方程式,以確保其畢業生能夠獲得就業能力的訓驗,從而提供真正的就業成果。 

普惠金融

菲律賓群島銀行(BPI)是Ayala的核心業務之一,亦是東南亞的第一家銀行。雖然傳統上一直服務高收入群組, Ayala將其服務穩步擴展到了更廣泛的市場,特別是不斷擴大的中等收入階層以及數量不斷增加的微型及中小型企業 (MSME)。Ayala 意識到,要菲律賓獲得金融服務是十分困難的,至今仍未得到充分解決,這樣不單止防礙了社會的流動性,更阻礙了菲律賓成為具活力的創業環境。 例如,2018 年只有 5% 的人可以使用信用卡,而大約 65% 的人口仍然沒有銀行戶口。 

 

Inclusive Finance

 

為了解決這個問題,BPI 推出了 BPI Direct BanKo(一種文字遊戲,意思是「我的銀行」;也是菲律賓語「銀行」的直接翻譯),為小額信貸機構和傳統銀行未能完全服務的中小企業和社會企業家提供小額信貸。 在菲律賓,自僱微型企業家 (SEME) 佔企業總數的 99.5%,並僱用了 63% 的勞動力。Ayala 試圖通過提供可負擔的信貸,來釋放這一服務嚴重不足的群組的生產力和創業能量。 BanKo前身為銀行流動應用程式, 但現在已轉變為與其目標客戶相關的更高接觸的服務模式。 

 

BanKo 為中小企業和社會企業家提供小額信貸 

 

 

BanKo 向其網絡內約 145,000 名借款人提供方便且可負擔的貸款產品,以促進其業務增長,進而增加年輕企業家的收入,最終促進社會的經濟增長。 截至2020年,BanKo 在全國74省擁有304家分行。 

 作為一家企業,BPI積極向前邁進,目前正尋求與初創公司和大型機構合作,以增強其數碼服務產品並提高收益。 

能源

AC 能源 (AC Energy) 於 2011 年成立,是 Ayala 首次涉足能源領域,以協助緩解當時的電力供應缺口問題,並利用新頒佈的促進公開競爭和可再生能源的法律帶來的機會最初,AC 能源 投資了幾家燃煤發電廠,以滿足當時可再生能源無法完全提供的高能源需求。 Ayala 很快預見到化石燃料的不可持續性,並預視可再生能源的成本和效益已經顯著的提高,於 2017 年開始戰略轉型,大力轉向可再生和低碳投資組合 

 

Green Energy

 

為此,AC 能源 開始逐步出售其約 500 兆瓦、價值 5.74 億美元的煤炭資產,並重新投資於可再生能源,包括多個風力和太陽能發電場。 AC 能源 目前的目標是到 2030 年完全脫離煤炭發電資產。該脫碳組合投資的承諾得到了發行兩份綠色債券的支持 — 第一份發行了 4.1 億美元的債券,是東南亞第一隻此類債券, 並且得到氣候債券倡議組織的認證; 隨後發行的 4 億美元綠色債券,也獲得了東盟綠色債券標準的認證,並在新加坡交易所成功上市。 

 

AC 能源投資 5.74億美元用於可再生能源,包括風力和太陽能發電場。  

 

 

從 2011 年起步,AC 能源發展迅速,現已成為亞洲最大的能源機構之一,在澳洲、印度、印尼、緬甸、菲律賓和越南都有投資。 它立志成為東南亞最大的上市可再生能源平台,目標是到2025年達到5,000兆瓦的可再生能源產能。 

展望未來

數碼化是Ayala向前發展的基石,集團大力推動在其公司組合中採用和整合數碼技術。 例如,在醫療保健領域,AC 健康 的 HealthNow 遠程醫療應用程式在提供的服務和用戶群方面呈現幾何級的增長,並被證明是一個非常有價值的遠程診症、藥物交付和 新冠病毒疫苗接種預約平台。 同樣,iPeople 將繼續擴展其教育平台,並利用數碼技術使從預科學校到大學的教育產品可以調整及適應未來的職場需求。 

此外,儘管新冠病毒全球大流行帶來了各種挑戰,但Ayala仍然堅定心與政府合作解決菲律賓的關鍵性社會問題。 Ayala與政府合作,採購了超過 100 萬劑新冠病毒疫苗,分配給員工及其家屬,在全國設立了至少 24 個疫苗接種點。集團將繼續促進和召集不同的菲律賓機構、民間社會團體、甚至天主教會合作,聯合倡議糧食援助和財政援助等等議題。 

 

社會效益 
商業利益 
國家基礎設施的發展 —  過去一直通過投資關鍵的社會基礎設施來推動菲律賓的經濟增長。 增加收入和利潤 
無障礙和可負擔的醫療保健 — 建立了領道性的基礎保健診所和藥房網絡,實現了普遍且更負擔得起的醫療保健覆蓋,並為超過 20,000 名基層求診者提供服務。  多元化業務 — 投資組合的核心業務包括房地產、銀行、電電訊、公用事業和基礎建設、醫療保健、教育和供水。 
普惠銀行 — 菲律賓銀行系統的先驅,目前通過向中小企業提供小額信貸以實現更大的金融包容性。  市場領導者— 針對服務不足的群組的建立多種開創性商業模式(醫療保健、教育、銀行),解決了關鍵的社會問題,在此過程中創造了巨大的經濟價值。 
Share This

Driving development with business targeting underserved segments

Introduction

Ayala Corporation, founded in 1834, is one of the most diversified conglomerates in the Philippines. Ayala set up the first pharmacy, bank and tram system in the Philippines and has since partnered with the government to facilitate national development by helping develop the Philippines’ strategic industries. With business interests in various sectors including real estate, banking, education, health and energy, Ayala has played a key role in fuelling the economic and social development of the Philippines.

Opportunity/Business Case

Over the last few decades, the Philippine economy has grown rapidly, leading to job creation and higher income for many people. However, the development of necessary infrastructure and social institutions has often struggled to keep pace, particularly with regard to access to essential services such as finance, healthcare and education, as well as water and electricity. Addressing these issues required sufficient resources and expertise from both the government and the private sector.

Ayala recognised the Philippines’ struggles and the group’s vested interest in building strong communities in which the business could thrive. Ayala’s leaders saw an opportunity to leverage the firm’s own resources and expertise to help develop the necessary infrastructure and further drive the country’s social and economic progress. Moreover, the diversified conglomerate had played a significant role in shaping the real estate, banking and telecommunications sectors in the Philippines, and as such was well placed to create social and economic value.

Whilst Shared Value principles had always been a part of Ayala’s investment philosophy, these developments ultimately culminated in a shift in Ayala’s corporate strategy, starting in the ‘90s and continuing up to the present, to one that formally adopted Shared Value with regard to corporate innovation and development. Indeed, this decision was driven by a desire to solve pressing social and economic issues in the Philippines. Taking a Shared Value approach, Ayala adopted the idea of ‘reverse innovation’, which sought to unearth new business models targeting challenging social issues but that crucially were financially sustainable to be scalable. Such models would both generate and in turn be sustained by local markets, subsequently catalysing socioeconomic development until they became more mature, highly profitable businesses. This was achieved by pulling in the necessary resources through a strong partnership with the government to create the required infrastructure for business success.

Ayala’s premise was simple – innovate in areas where key social needs remained underserved and create new economic growth for companies through affordable and replicable business models. This required strong leadership from the top with a long-term vision for the country’s potential and the group’s capacity to drive change. Starting in the ‘90s with an entry into water distribution and telecommunications, this later on evolved to successful entries and ongoing ventures in the fields of healthcare, education, inclusive finance, and energy.

CSV Strategy

Healthcare

Ayala identified healthcare as a high-impact sector in the Philippines due to three major trends that it spotted around 2015: 1) Healthcare was emerging as an important part of the national agenda, given the government’s focus on institutionalizing major healthcare policies and infrastructure. 2) Healthcare is a growth area for the future, given rising healthcare expenditures by both public and private sectors, as well as an expanding share of wallet. 3) The Philippine healthcare sector is ripe for disruption, considering fundamental issues throughout the industry, and across a Filipino’s life – from infant mortality maternal deaths, nutrition issues, persistent illness, and quality of palliative care.

Ayala - Groundbreaking Ceremony

As its contribution to this challenge, Ayala (through its subsidiary AC Health) entered the space with the aim of providing accessible, affordable, quality healthcare to 1 in 5 Filipinos by 2030. Its first foray into this sector was an innovative model of 3-in-1 clinics, called FamilyDOC, that housed a clinic, laboratory, and pharmacy, offering key services at an affordable price point. Ayala intended that these clinics be located at places where they can create the most impact – within high-density communities that were underserved by grassroots-level public health institutions and were quite some distance from larger (and more expensive) facilities. This model targeted ‘non-consumers’ – people who were willing to pay if they trusted they would receive the correct diagnosis and treatment. The majority of the required treatments being quite basic, nurses were perfectly able to administer them with a lower staffing cost for the clinic compared to doctors. Significantly, these required treatments were also some of the critical healthcare needs of its target patients that they either put off treatment until it becomes worse, or would spend a high amount to have treated in tertiary level hospitals. This price saving was passed on to patients allowing a low access fee to basic healthcare. This model proved a great success and was able to scale and serve more than 20,000 grassroots patients by 2017, providing an average 40% saving in consultation fees relative to private healthcare.

Building on this success, AC Health’s FamilyDOC clinics merged with Healthway Philippines Inc., one of the country’s leading primary care clinics networks, in early 2020 to expand the reach of its healthcare footprint. Incorporating 7 specialty clinics and an additional 40 corporate clinics, AC Health is now able to cater to an increasingly broad consumer base, offering a range of out-patient services including specialty consults, specialised diagnostics and ambulatory surgical services to name a few.

FamilyDOC model served 20,000 patients by 2017.

 

This integration with the Healthway network further boosts AC Health’s investments in generic pharmacies and the medicine supply (Generika Drugstore and IE Medica), health technologies (HealthNow), and a tertiary hospital network (QualiMed). AC Health has also broken ground on a specialty cancer hospital, hoping to apply this thinking of affordable, accessible, and quality oncological treatments as a response to the government’s cancer control program. By enabling greater universal healthcare coverage and providing a more holistic scope of care, Ayala was able to meet an essential social need whilst creating a scalable business model.

Education

As unemployment and underemployment are major societal problems and education can bring part of the solution, Ayala entered the education sector through AC Education in 2012. In the same year, it launched an innovative solution called the Professional Employment Program (PEP).

PEP is the bridge between academe and industry. The goal of the program is to significantly increase the employability of graduating students. In a market with stark skills mismatches, where graduates have difficulty in finding good jobs, whilst employers have difficulty in finding properly prepared employees, the key objective of PEP is to help graduates stand out with all the skills (both hard and soft) that are needed for success in industry.

PEP students undergo five months of rigorous training improving their ability to secure and retain a good job. It is a tech-enabled training experience designed to fully simulate the workplace. There are no lectures, homework or tests and the professors role-play as employers. Students are put into real work situations where they are given work-related projects to complete and problems to solve. Outcomes are evaluated against work standards.

Data is a key element in PEP. It allows the program to continuously innovate. Graduates are monitored after graduation to capture the performance of graduates against a range of employability metrics. Strategic partnerships with employers provide visibility on emerging struggles and help forecast future skills requirements.

All these insights allow AC Education, which subsequently merged with iPeople and now has 7 schools with approximately 50,000 students, to understand the evolution and emergence of business needs and prioritise high-demand capabilities in each subsequent iteration of PEP.  As a result, PEP is able to identify gaps and adjust last-mile programs toward the emerging and evolving skills that employers need.

Since its launch, PEP has graduated thousands of students who have gone on to successful careers in sales and retail, banking, finance, IT and BPO, with partners such as Accenture and Ayala Group companies, BPI and Globe.

PEP graduates have achieved very high employment rates and starting salaries. In the school year 2019-20, despite entering the workforce during the first year of the pandemic, PEP graduates at iPeople’s National Teachers College achieved a 94% employment rate within 90 days, at an average monthly wage of Php18,222, a 30% premium over the Metro Manila minimum wage of Php14,007 per month.

AC Education has 7 schools and 50,000 students. 

 

To date, one of the most active partners of PEP is Accenture, whose technology capability lead reported that iPeople is a top partner because of the quality of hires from PEP. He reported that students are equipped with the full package from good attitude and work habits, to good English-speaking skills as well as technical skills. Given the quality of the students, Accenture is working with iPeople to create a longer version of PEP that will include Accenture’s Technology Learning Program. It will be strategically embedded in the curriculum to ensure full integration and alignment. The main objective is to achieve quality scale and support the rapid growth of Accenture.

PEP works because it sits in an innovative employment system that provides workforce development training, recruitment and placement plus labour market intelligence. Beginning in the school year 2021-22, iPeople will have about 2,000 college seniors graduating every year, who will have undergone PEP. PEP is set to scale up significantly as it is now fully embedded in the curriculum of the schools. Through PEP, Ayala has found a sustainable formula to ensure that its graduating students are able to undergo an employability bridging experience that delivers real employment results.

Inclusive Finance

Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI) is one of Ayala’s core interests and was the first bank in Southeast Asia. Having traditionally served higher-income segments, Ayala had steadily expanded its services to a much broader market, specifically the rising middle-income class as well as the growing number of micro, small and medium enterprises (MSMEs). Ayala recognised that access to financial services in the Philippines represented a significant pain point that had not been adequately addressed so far, hindered social mobility, and prevented the country from becoming a dynamic entrepreneurship hotbed. For instance, only 5% of people had access to credit cards whilst approximately 65% of the population remained unbanked in 2018.

To contribute to the solution, BPI launched BPI Direct BanKo (a play on words, meaning ‘my bank’; and is also the direct Filipino translation of ‘bank’) providing micro-finance to SMEs and social entrepreneurs that were not fully covered by established microfinance institutions and traditional banks. Self-Employed Micro Entrepreneurs (SEME) constitute 99.5% of the total number of businesses in the Philippines – employing 63% of the workforce – and Ayala sought to unlock the productive power and entrepreneurial energy of this significantly underserved segment of the population by enabling access to affordable credit. From its previous iteration as a mobile banking app, BanKo transitioned to a more high-touch model that was relevant to their target clients.

BanKo provides micro-finance to SMEs and social entrepreneurs.

 

BanKo provides convenient and affordable loan products to about 145,000 unique borrowers within their network, facilitating the growth of their operations and in turn the income of young entrepreneurs, ultimately contributing to economic growth. As of 2020, BanKo had 304 branches located in 74 provinces across the country.

Moving forward BPI as an enterprise is looking to partner with startups and larger institutions to enhance its digital service offering and increase revenues.

Energy

Set up in 2011, AC Energy represented Ayala’s first foray into the energy sector to assist in alleviating a power supply gap issue then, as well as harness opportunities brought about by newly enacted laws promoting open competition and renewables. Initially, AC Energy invested in several coal-fired power plants to answer the high demand for energy, which renewables at the time were unable to fully provide. Ayala soon anticipated the unsustainable nature of fossil fuels and saw that the cost and energy efficiency of renewables had significantly improved. The company embarked on a strategic pivot in 2017 to heavily shift towards a renewable and low carbon portfolio.

Towards this end, AC Energy started to gradually divest its thermal coal assets, which reached approximately 500 MW and worth US$574 million, to reinvest in renewable energy, including several wind and solar farms. AC Energy currently aims to fully divest from coal generation assets by 2030. This commitment to decarbonise the portfolio is supported by the issuance of two green bonds – the first being a US$410 million offering, which was the first such bonds in Southeast Asia and was certified by the Climate Bond Initiative; and a subsequent US$400 million green bond offering, certified under the ASEAN Green Bonds Standard and successfully listed in the Singapore Exchange.

AC Energy invested US$574 in renewable energy, including wind and solar farms.

 

From a standing start in 2011, AC Energy has grown rapidly and is now one of the largest energy companies in Asia, with investments in Australia, India, Indonesia, Myanmar, the Philippines, and Vietnam. It aspires to be the largest listed renewables platform in Southeast Asia, with a goal of reaching 5,000 MW of renewables capacity by 2025.

Future Outlook

Digitalisation is a keystone of development for Ayala moving forward, and there is a significant push to adopt and integrate digital technologies throughout their portfolio of companies where relevant. For instance, in the healthcare space, AC Health’s HealthNow telemedicine app has exponentially grown in terms of services offered and userbase, and has proven quite valuable as a teleconsultation, medicine delivery, and COVID-19 vaccination scheduling platform. Similarly, iPeople continues to expand its educational platform and leverage digital technology to adapt the educational offering from preparatory school to university to the future of work.

Moreover, despite the various challenges posed by the COVID-19 pandemic, Ayala has remained steadfast in its determination to partner with the government in addressing key social issues in the Philippines. Working alongside the government, Ayala has procured over 1 million doses of COVID-19 vaccines to be allocated to employees and their dependents, has set up at least 24 vaccination sites across the country, and continues to be a catalyst and convenor of fellow Philippine corporates, civil society groups, and even the Catholic Church for food aid and financial assistance initiatives.

Societal Benefits
Business Benefits 
Development of National Infrastructure – Historically involved in driving the Philippines’ economic growth via investments in key social infrastructure.
Increased Revenues & Profit
Accessible & Affordable Healthcare – Established the leading network of primary care clinics and pharmacies, enabling universal and more affordable healthcare coverage, and serving over 20,000 grassroots patients.
Diversified Businesses – Portfolio including core interests in real estate, banking, telecoms, utilities & infrastructure, as well as healthcare, education and water.
Inclusive Banking – Pioneer of Philippines’ banking system and currently enabling greater financial inclusion through micro-finance to SMEs.
Leader in the market – Set up multiple pioneering business models (healthcare, education, banking) that targeted underserved populations, solved crucial social issues, creating significant economic value in the process.
Read more Case Studies