May Chung Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

雀巢于2017年在香港展开「雀巢健康儿童计划」。访谈中,雀巢香港有限公司总经理锺美玲小姐解释全球计划如何帮助儿童开展更健康的生活,同时为企业创造价值。

请介绍一下计划如何推出。有当地合作伙伴参与吗?

雀巢是一家以「优质食品,美好生活」为宗旨的公司,我们的目的是释放食物的力量,从而为这个世代的人们和未来的下一代提高生活素质。为了实现这个目的,我们制定了3项全球大计,预计2030年前实现,其中一项专注于个人和家庭:帮助5000万个儿童开展更健康的生活。雀巢健康儿童计划汇集我们的全球资源,支持父母和儿童看护人培育更健康的孩子。

香港第一个雀巢健康儿童计划于2017年推出,计划长达了3年。我们与香港中文大学健康教育及促进健康中心(CHEHP) 合作,于6家小学实行计划。我们为超过500个小四到小六、正值成长关键期的学童,策划了一系列围绕健康饮食和积极生活方式的多元化教育活动。这些学童的教师和家长亦有投入参与,共同努力培育更健康的儿童。

 

到目前为止,计划在促进儿童健康方面有什么成果?

除了教育活动外,CHEHP更进行了年度健康问卷调查和体能测试,收集有关学童健康的基线、中期和后期评估,以衡量计划的有效性。计划于去年结束。我们很高兴观察到学童的饮食和健康习惯有了显著改善。

举例说,结果显示在经历了计划中的不同活动后,每天进食卫生署建议蔬果份量的学童数目,在计划的第二年显著增加。超过45%的学童每天进食至少2份瓜菜类食物,亦有超过70%的学童每天进食至少2份水果。在运动方面,调查显示,每周进行3至6天至少60分钟中等至剧烈强度运动的学童比例明显比较高,于第二年达至45.7%。这些对我们来说都是令人鼓舞的结果,反映了各种校本教育活动能促进学童健康,令他们养成更健康的习惯,从而为我们的社会创造共享价值。

 

雀巢健康儿童计划于2017年在香港推出。图片来源:雀巢香港有限公司

 

创造共享价值旨在将社会问题转化成商业机会。「健康儿童计划」为雀巢带来了什麽商机?

计划通过学校活动提供营养教育。我们透过这个方法帮助孩子和父母作出健康食物选择,并建立持久的健康生活方式。同时,我们正加快我们产品组合的转型,确保我们的品牌能支持那些更健康的生活方式,满足现代的营养需求。举例说,我们推出更有营养的食品和饮料,透过减少盐、糖和饱和脂肪来满足儿童的营养需求。在香港,我们的 雀巢®牛奶公司™​ 乳酪杯符合我们的内部营养标準以及欧盟食品业者自律公约,可以作为孩子偶尔可选择的营养零食。我们将产品组合配合儿童的营养需求,从而帮助儿童开展更健康的生活,同时为我们的业务制造价值。

计划有没有帮助雀巢加强与社区的联繫?

通过为期3年的计划,雀巢香港与我们的社区持份者(包括CHEHP、学校和教师)建立了牢固的联繫。我们有一个共同目标,就是让孩子养成更健康的饮食和生活习惯。我们与我们的持份者和伙伴合作,透过支援活动和服务启发儿童看护人,加强我们作为培育健康孩子、值得信赖的伙伴角色。

雀巢健康儿童计划宣扬健康习惯,和恒常体能活动。图片来源:雀巢香港有限公司

 

雀巢健康儿童计划是一个全球倡议。在香港实行时有什么特别吗?

我们全球的雀巢健康儿童计划都有一个共同大计:帮助儿童开展更健康的生活,但儿童的营养需求和生活方式会因国家和社会背景而有所不同,而香港的计划只为满足本地儿童的特定需求而设计。因此,CHEHP会跟进参与学童整个成长阶段的生活方式习惯和体能素质,从而让我们了解香港孩子的实际需要,相应调整计划内容。

你有因为COVID-19疫情而调整计划吗?

在疫情期间,由于面对面的学校活动被暂停,学校的持续关闭的确令我们的计划在实践上挑战重重。但是,在新常态下,CHEHP设法探索与学童进行互动的新途径,例如CHEHP引入了有关运动建议的线上资源,鼓励学童在家上课时亦保持运动。

展望未来,随著学童和家长在数字时代中适应遥距学习,我们将与CHEHP合作开发更多线上教材,和有效利用线上资源来推动更健康的生活方式,确保计划的可持续发展。

下一步是什么?为什么?

鉴于2017-2020年度计划的积极成果,雀巢香港和CHEHP很高兴地将在未来3年为第二期雀巢健康儿童计划延续伙伴关係,希望能提高更多学童的营养和健康。

计划将扩展至10家小学,约800名小四学童及其家长和教师将参与其中。CHEHP亦将继续策划多元化的校本和社区活动,透过加强线上投入度来促进与参加人的互动。我们亦希望为他们提供营养和运动方面的健康教育,从而提高他们的知识、营养和健康,巩固健康生活方式,达至终生健康。

我们还将与更多伙伴探索跨品牌活动,对象将包括但不限于我们旗下的品牌,进一步推广健康饮食和积极的生活方式,令计划更全面,并支持家长和儿童看护人培育更健康的孩子。

About May Chung

May Chung is the General Manager of Nestlé Hong Kong, leading the businesses in Hong Kong and Macau region. May has comprehensive experiences in Consumer Goods Industry. She has been actively contributing to the industry. She is currently the Vice Chairlady of GS1 Hong Kong as well as Chairlady of its Food & Beverage Industry Advisory Board, supporting the organisation in advocating various industry-related initiatives.

May Chung Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

Nestlé launched the Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme in Hong Kong in 2017. In this interview, May Chung, General Manager, Nestlé Hong Kong Limited, explains the why and how of a global programme helping children lead healthier lives while creating value for the business.

Could you describe how this programme rolled out and whether you involved local partners?

Nestlé is a “Good food, Good life” company, and our purpose is to unlock the power of food to enhance quality of life for everyone, today and for generations to come. To live up to this purpose, we have laid down three global 2030 ambitions, one of which focuses on individuals and families: to help 50 million children lead healthier lives. The Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme worldwide brings together all our efforts to support parents and caregivers on their journey to raise healthier kids.

The first Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme in Hong Kong was launched in 2017 and ran for three years. We partnered with the Centre for Health Education and Health Promotion (CHEHP) of the Chinese University of Hong Kong to collaborate with six primary schools. Together, we organised a wide variety of educational activities around healthy diets and active lifestyles, for over 500 primary school students across their critical growth period from primary four to primary six. Teachers and parents of these students were also engaged for joint efforts to nurture healthier kids.

What results has the programme achieved so far on kid’s health?

In addition to the education activities, CHEHP also conducted annual health surveys and fitness tests to gather a baseline, interim and final assessment of the student’s health to measure the effectiveness of the programme, which concluded last year. We are delighted to observe a significant improvement in the students’ dietary and health habits.

For example, the results showed that after experiencing different activities of the programme, the number of students who consumed daily a sufficient level of vegetables and fruits as recommended by the Department of Health, showed a statistically significant increase in the second year of the programme. Over 45% of the students consumed at least two portions of vegetables and over 70% consumed at least two portions of fruits. As for physical activity, the survey showed a significantly higher proportion of students doing at least 60-min moderate to vigorous intensity activities for 3 to 6 days, reaching 45.7% in the second year. These are encouraging results for us as it reflects how the various school-based education activities lead to enhanced students’ health, and healthier habits, which creates Shared Value for our society.

The Nestlé Healthier Kids Programme Launch

The launch of the Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme in 2017 in Hong Kong. Photo credit: Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

Creating Shared Value is about translating societal issues into business opportunities. What business opportunities has the Healthier Kids Programme brought to Nestlé?

The programme provides nutrition education through school activities. In this way, we help children and parents make healthy food choices and establish long-term healthy lifestyles. In the meantime, we are accelerating the transformation of our product portfolio to ensure our brands support those healthier lifestyles and meet today’s nutritional needs. For example, we launch more nutritious foods and beverages to meet children’s nutritional needs by reducing salt, sugar and saturated fat. In Hong Kong, our Nestlé® Dairy Farm® yoghurt cups fulfill our internal nutrition criteria as well as the EU Pledge, and can be a nutritious snack for kids to choose occasionally. By matching our product portfolio with children’s nutrition needs, we can help children lead healthier lives while creating value for our business.

Has this programme helped Nestlé to strengthen the link with the community?

Through the 3-year implementation of the programme, Nestlé Hong Kong has created strong connections with our community stakeholders, including CHEHP, schools and teachers. We all share a common goal to raise children with healthier eating and lifestyle habits. We work together with our stakeholders and partners to inspire caregivers with supportive activities and services, strengthening our role as a trusted partner for nurturing healthy kids.

The Nestlé Healthier Kids Programme launch in Hong Kong

The Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme promotes healthy habits, as regular physical activity. Photo credit: Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

The Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme is a global initiative. What is specific to Hong Kong?

Our worldwide Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme shares the same ambition to help children lead healthier lives. But the nutritional needs and lifestyles of children do vary from country to country and according to different societal backgrounds. The Hong Kong programme was designed to cater for the specific needs of our local children. That is why the CHEHP kept track of the lifestyle habits and physical fitness of the participating students across their growth stages. By doing so, we can understand the actual needs of Hong Kong kids and adjust the programme accordingly.

Did you make some adjustments due to the COVID-19 pandemic?

During the pandemic, ongoing school closure did pose challenges to our implementation of the programme, given the suspension of face-to-face school activities. However, CHEHP managed to explore new approaches to carry on the interactions with the students under the new normal. For example, CHEHP introduced online resources with exercise suggestions to encourage students to stay active during home-schooling.

Looking into the future, as students and parents adapt to remote learning in the digital era, we will work with CHEHP to develop more online educational materials and make effective use of online resources to foster healthier lifestyle and ensure a sustainable development of the programme.

 

What are the next steps? Why?

In view of the positive results from the 2017-2020 programme, Nestlé Hong Kong and CHEHP are happy to renew the partnership for the second Nestlé for Healthier Kids Programme in the upcoming three years, hoping to enhance the nutrition and health of more students.

The programme will expand its footprint to 10 primary schools from which around 800 primary four students, as well as their parents and teachers, will participate. CHEHP will also continue to organise a wide variety of school-based and community activities and accelerate the interaction with participants via strengthened online engagements. We hope to provide them with health education on nutrition and exercise, thereby improving their knowledge, nutrition and health, and fostering lifestyles leading to life-long wellness.

We will also explore cross-over activities with more partners including but not limited to our brands to further promote healthy diets and active lifestyles, to make the programme more comprehensive and support parents and caregivers on their journey to nurture healthier kids.

About May Chung

May Chung Nestlé Hong Kong Ltd

May Chung is the General Manager of Nestlé Hong Kong, leading the businesses in Hong Kong and Macau region. May has comprehensive experiences in Consumer Goods Industry. She has been actively contributing to the industry. She is currently the Vice Chairlady of GS1 Hong Kong as well as Chairlady of its Food & Beverage Industry Advisory Board, supporting the organisation in advocating various industry-related initiatives.